Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

run your asses off.

Breaking news: I’m running an impromptu half marathon this Sunday.  Don’t worry, I accidentally trained for this so hopefully it will be injury free. You see, for the last 2-3 months I joined my friends each Saturday for long runs (8-12 miles) as they trained for a half marathon that took place last weekend. I had a girls weekend planned and knew I couldn’t participate but tagged along for the training anyways. There is NOTHING like a long run to get your weekend started on the right foot. Yesterday my friend Erin (my old running partner) mentioned that she signed up for a half this Sunday but hadn’t trained.  I jumped at the chance to scoop up her bib since she wasn’t going to use it.  Somehow I convinced my friend Melissa (and running partner) to run with me, except she’ll run as a bandit (without a bib) since registration is closed. I hope we don’t get in trouble!!

We’ll also be running a race on Monday- the Tufts 10K. We signed up for it a while ago so we’ll run it lightheartedly. The Tufts 10k was the very first race I ever ran (circa 2007) and I highly recommend it for runners new and old. It’s ALL women and an incredible experience. The energy is palpable and it’s sure to get you hooked! Plus they give out cool shirts and there is always fun free food post race. (The real reason I run.) Registration is still open!!!

I picked up our race packets today at City Sports where they offered a 15% off the entire purchase. Obviously I couldn’t let that deal go to waste so I picked myself up some hiking boots. I’m going on an overnight backpacking trip next weekend and Eleanor chewed the back out of my boot so a new pair was needed. Check em’ out. The pink kinda throws me off since I’m not so girly but why the hell not.

 

 

Happy weekend!!!

October 8, 2010 Posted by | Friends, running | 13 Comments

Soup up in HERE!

Yesterday I was a cooking machine. My friend Sarah came over for dinner so I created a fall menu.

Carrot and Squash Ginger Soup

One butternut Squash

One pound Carrots

One onion

1-2 inch piece ginger (depending on how much you like ginger)

3 garlic cloves

2 tablespoons olive oil

4 cups water

Salt and Pepper

1/4 Almond Milk (or milk/cream)

cinnamon  (to your liking)

brown sugar (just sprinkled some in)

greek yogurt and some pumpkin seeds for garnish

Peel squash(which is a total bitch), cube and bake for 30 minutes at 350. While squash is baking, add onions and garlic to the a big pot with heated oil and cook until onions are translucent. Once that happens and squash is done in oven, add chopped carrots,squash, sliced ginger, salt and water to pot. Bring to a boil and let cook for 30 minutes. Once the carrots are tender, dump entire contents into blender or use an immersion blender to make nice and smooth. Once blended, dump back into the pot and add almond milk, cinnamon and brown sugar. Stir.

As mentioned, I garnished with greek yogurt and pumpkin seeds but if you wanted a sweeter twist pumpkin butter would be AWESOME!

And what’s a Fall menu without pumpkin beer? A shitty one.

We also had a wonderful salad that contained: spring mix, spinach, tomatoes, apple slices, raisins, feta and Angela’s better than bottled Balsamic dressing. So. Freaking. Good.

I LOVED this soup!

 

October 8, 2010 Posted by | Food, Friends, Recipes, Uncategorized | 9 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers