Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Apparently I make meatloaf

Yeah, I’m shocked too. I’ve been Debbie Domestic as of late.  I picked up some organic beef at Trader Joes this weekend and wanted to make something easy with it. The few times a year that there is meat in the house, Len usually takes the reigns. Not tonight bitches, not tonight. I can remember making loaf with my mom as a kid and I had to be the one to get my hands dirty. You know, mixing and mashing the ingredients together. Well last night, that was the part I was dreading the most.

In the bowl went one pound beef, one egg, breadcrumbs, shredded mozz cheese, salt and pepper, and 21 Salute Seasoning. Mix it all up and make sure not to look at it. You might get grossed out and ruin your appetite. Form into that strange meatloaf shape and squirt ketchup all over the top. 350 degrees for 45-60 minutes. It was DELISH!

But not as delish as Angela’s High Protein Garlic Mashed Potatoes.  Like she said, you’d never know beans were hiding in there. Tricky tricky…..

November 2, 2010 Posted by | Food, Recipes | 8 Comments

Unbearable Lightness

Morning! It’s 4:37 am and I’m up because I went to bed at 8:30 last night. I had a wicked headache (they say from yoga) and just needed to close my eyes.

Did anyone see Oprah yesterday? Portia De Rossi was on promoting her new book Unbearable Lightness and talking about her struggle with self hate/disordered eating (they usually go hand in hand) and the pain of hiding she was gay. Portia’s story is super powerful and I found myself relating so much. In her deepest moments of self-loathing she would say to herself, “You’re nothing, your average, you’re an ordinary, average, fat piece of shit. You have no self-control. You’re a stupid, fat, disgusting dyke. You ugly stupid bitch.”  As she read that passage, she cried and I did too. In my deepest moments I would call myself similar names and believed them to the depth of my core. I will never, ever go back to that place.

These were Portia’s closing words, “Really the only way I recovered from my eating disorder and from chronic dieting was to never ever restrict any kind of food, not even portion size. And that really is the only way that food loses its power over you. If you can have something everyday as much as you want, you tend not to want it as much any more. After a period of time you actually eat what your body needs, you eat what makes you happy and you don’t think about food ever again. That is how I healed myself.”

AMEN!

 

 

 

 

 

November 2, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | 8 Comments