Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

America’s Funniest Home Video- Goodies Galore Style.

 

Well Hello There!

Meet Tuesday, the new addition to our house. I think she can sense that I’m not a cat person.

 

 

 

 

I started this blog about three years ago and for the first 1.5 years I was pretty consistent with it.  It’s been about three months since I last blogged…….. what a dead beat. I’ve definitely had some things to share but the question of what’s appropriate always remains. Yes I know, many of the things I say are not exactly ‘lady like’, however I still struggle with certain topics. When I first started writing Goodies Galore, I didn’t really think about who was reading so I lacked a filter. Then Len and I split and for the first time I started writing in a censored way. After that, I had concerns about co-workers and clients reading my stuff. Writing became less fun because I felt stifled and was worried about being judged and/or hurting feelings. Part of having a blog is putting yourself out there, being vulnerable, and risking what comes along with that. That’s the place I’m trying to get back to.

 

Let’s laugh. One of the greatest pleasures in life is seeing people trip. Even better, trip then fall. (Don’t pretend you don’t find humor in this as well.) When I was younger, my father fell down the stairs stomach down and I swear, the length of his body took up the entire stairwell. I can remember running into my room as it happened because it was impossible not to laugh. The image still kills me to this day. In 7th grade, a classmate tipped over in her chair and farted at the same time. Priceless. Five years ago, Len tried to sneak up on me as I was getting washed up in the bathroom. As he was quietly tiptoeing in my direction, he stubbed his toe on a stair and starting hopping on one foot yelling “oww, oww, ow.”  Events like these play in my mind like a movie reel and will forever make me chuckle.

 

 

The bad news about finding joy in people’s embarrassment is that KARMA’S a bitch. Last week, I was walking down the hall at work and my ankle rolled. Before I knew it, I was going down in split position. (In a dress.) When my legs couldn’t spread any more, my back leg folded into itself and there I was on the floor- front leg out split style, back leg tucked under my butt. From there I toppled over onto my side like a floundering fish and was spotted by staff and a client. Despite their bulging eyes and concerned “Are you okay”, their facial expressions were all-too familiar and I just know they had a good laugh. As did I. If you can’t laugh at yourself in life, you’re screwed.

My weekend was spent with this little hooker.

 

Tell me a funny story. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

September 10, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. I don’t have a funny story, but I almost peed myself laughing at your unfortunate tumble, in a dress. I guess I’m going to hell, but I agree, it’s so fun to find humor in ourselves and in other people’s musfortune. See you in hell, I’ll bring the wine!!! :)

    Comment by Dana M | September 10, 2012 | Reply

    • Sounds like my kinda party! :)

      Comment by lpskins | September 10, 2012 | Reply

  2. I am hysterically laughing at my desk picturing your fall and the other incidents you mentioned. People falling is my absolute favorite. Have you seen this??? http://www.buzzfeed.com/samir/the-biggest-kid-fails-of-all-time

    You’re welcome. :) (I’m now preparing myself to eat it at work or class today because I laugh at poor small children).

    Comment by Erin @ Big Girl Feats | September 10, 2012 | Reply

  3. OMG! I am at work, laughing quietly to, well, myself! I have fallen—–down stairs………….there comes a point or age—in life……….when it’s more pain than funny………….see, I was on my way to school. I am in my 40s, so this is night class at a community college…………in a HURRY, I fly down my apt stairwell……and woah—–flump-I bent a foot or something…………….it was so quick. I was super happy no one saw me, but I’m sure someone heard me. Anyway, I hate the shoes that were slippery on stairs and still wear them! I made it to class and can laugh at it even now:)
    I am so glad you’re blogging again!!!!!! You ROCK! So do your pets! Great pics!!!

    Comment by Amy | September 13, 2012 | Reply

  4. dang girl- I have missed you!! glad all is getting back to normal- now move to Texas and make the Zack attack happy!!

    Comment by drexelmom | September 14, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

