Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Story time about kindness.

From an early age, I’ve been lucky enough to see the world through empathetic and caring eyes. Sometimes I’m too idealistic and this becomes a fault. Sometimes my kindness gets taken for weakness. Still, I never want to harden or lose that part of myself. I make an effort almost daily to practice an act of kindness. Sometimes it’s appreciated, sometimes it’s not. Sometimes it goes unnoticed, perhaps I’ll never know if it gets noticed. But being noticed or appreciated isn’t the point.

There’s a main street by work where all the pan handlers hang out. If you get stuck at the light, which is ALWAYS the case,  its only a matter of seconds before some pathetic looking soul with puppy dog eyes  approaches the car window. Sometimes, depending on my level of road rage, I’m already annoyed at the situation so I say “sorry” quite firmly then pretend to be busy looking at the radio or phone. Other times, my empathetic side wins and I can’t help but empty my purse into the rusty tin can held out at arm’s length.

We all know that giving money to panhandlers isn’t the best idea because it’s likely being used for drugs or alcohol. To remedy that, I started carrying granola bars in my car to pass out as treats.  (Halloween came early, bitches.) I was now well-equipped to handle the street corners so when the next homeless man approached, I quite proudly offered him a bar. He looked at it hesitantly and with disgust said, “What kind is it?” “Are you serious dude?” I thought to myself. “If you’re really that hungry  you’d eat a granola bar made of pubic hair and ants.”  Sure enough he passed on the damn bar.

Last night I had a much better experience. Before going home after work, I stopped at the gas station for a treat. (Ended up with a shit load of donuts that I ate RIGHT before bed but that’s neither here nor there.) Outside the station was a younger guy shivering, he was clearly homeless. As I was leaving he asked me for some change. I said no but offered him something to eat. “I’ll take anything.” So he and I went inside for a little Super Market Sweep action. “Get whatever you want I said.” He picked up a measly Little Debbie snack but I insisted he get something more to hold him over. (He and I share the same love of Swiss Rolls and Zebra Cakes.) As he roamed around the store, reluctantly picking out food items,  he repeated “No one’s ever done this before, no one’s ever done this before.” Finally with a bag of donuts, 2 Little Debbie snacks and a vitamin water we made our way to the register. As I was paying I could see that he was in tears, so gracious and appreciative. What a beautiful moment that I will always remember.

Be kind to someone tomorrow without expecting anything in return. We never know the impact it will create.

Amen and goodnight.

September 11, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. this brought tears to my eyes! so gracious of you!

    Comment by hollie | September 11, 2012 | Reply

  2. This is why I love you. Thanks for reminding me not to be ashamed of that part of myself, but to nuture it. Needed this post tonight. We need more “you”s in the world!

    Comment by magoo22 | September 11, 2012 | Reply

  3. Well done, cousin. Well done.

    Comment by Heather | September 11, 2012 | Reply

  4. This is something I needed to read today! Thank you so much for sharing this!

    Comment by kelli0604 | September 12, 2012 | Reply

  5. You are such a kind hearted amazing person. You seem to never expect anything in return. So different from SO MANY people today. :)

    Comment by Christina | September 12, 2012 | Reply

  6. I once had a similar experience at a gas station. There was a lady there and she asked me for money for food for her kids. I told her that I had no cash but if she was really in need I would meet her at the Aldi just up the street and buy her some groceries. I didn’t think she would take me up on the offer but was glad that she did. She was also very timid about actually letting me buy anything significant. I ended up walking through the store with her and asking “would your kids eat this?” over and over and putting it in the cart for her. The order came to somewhere around $50-60 and I have never regretted it for a second.

    Comment by Stephanie | September 13, 2012 | Reply

  7. Linds. One time I was on my way into quiznos to grab a sandwich, and a very sad homeless man was sitting in the parking lot and asked me for money. I had no cash and I told him sorry. Inside I kept thinking of him, and decided to order him a sub too. When the girl making the sandwiches asked what kind of second sandwich did I want, I said I didn’t really know, I told her it was for the homeless guy outside, and maybe just a plain turkey and cheese will do. When I went to pay for the sandwiches, she told me that the second one was on her, since I was doing something nice for him she wanted to do something nice for me. When I went to give him the sandwich he said ,”what’s this?” I said “Well I didn’t have cash so I wanted to still do something for you, and actually the restaurant ended up paying for this for you!”, he then proceeded to SCOWL at me and grabbed the sandwich threw it in the parking lot and said he only wanted cash. I walked away stunned and in tears. Ever since then, I also look differently at panhandlers and homeless people. I know I shouldn’t judge every one of them based on this experience but fuck it really scarred me.

    Comment by slysyndrome | September 14, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

