Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

My experience as a runner. (And I use that term loosely.)

A reader asked that I write a blog about my running history so here it is. As mentioned in a previous post, I still don’t consider myself a “runner”, though I certainly like the idea of it. I started running in August of 2007-just a couple miles here in there. In September I posted an ad on craigslist looking for a running partner in the area. Erin wrote back and we met the next morning in front of Starbucks at 5:15. She would be wearing green shorts. (Note: this wasn’t the smartest/safest idea though it was before the craigslist killer.) We started running about 3 miles, 3 time per week. We upped our mileage to five miles and stayed at this distance through December.

Len and I spoke about our desire to always run a marathon but we both agreed we could never do it alone. For Christmas, he bought me sneakers, an ipod, nike + (which calculates pace, mile, etc) and signed us both up for The Key Bank Vermont Marathon in May, 2008. (Thanks a lot for the “generous” gift, Len.) Starting late January we started training for that. We would run a few times during the week and then increase a mile each weekend on our long run. I can remember each time  we conquered a new mile. Every saturday I would come home wobbling but ecstatic nonetheless. The day we ran thirteen miles for the first time was by far the worst training day to date. It was hot, it was hilly and someone was going to die. By the end of it I was ready to quit the training altogether and said, “Don’t talk to me right now because I’ll kill you.” I was feeling really irrational and any confidence I once had about training went down the drain. Thankfully I wasn’t just running the race for myself. We trained that way up until 20 miles before we started tapering. We were ready for the marathon. Or so we thought. The marathon was hell, not gonna lie.

I decided that in order to keep myself and Len running I needed to sign up for another race. So in October we ran the Maine 1/2 Marathon with our friends Doug and Joelle. That one was fun because it was in Portland, ME and we made a whole weekend out of it. LOVE going out to dinner to carb-load pre-race and LOVE going out to lunch to celebrate post race.  After the 1/2 I basically stopped running until summer of 09. Erin and I began running 3 times a week, working up to the five mile loop again. We did this very slowly and didn’t actually run the whole five miles till late August. I am not a stickler for time, and I am not fast. I average probably a little over a ten minute mile. It wasn’t until a month ago that we started increasing our mileage. Starting this October we ran 7 miles one weekend, 9.6 the next, and 11 miles last weekend. We signed up for the Harvard Pilgrim Half Marathon which is Nov. 8th to get us motivated to increase our miles. We’re decided that we’re not going to run it if it’s raining so we’re relaxed about the whole situation.

Although Len and I swore we’d never run a marathon again, we decided to register for the Country Music Marathon in Nashville. It’s not until April, 2010 so training won’t begin till December. My sis will be running the half so it will be awesome to have her with us. I absolutely adore country music so having music playing along the course and then a big concert to look forward to  post race will be really motivational.

So that’s my experience in a nut-shell. Running doesn’t come easy for me and I certainly don’t LOVE running. I do it because I can always count on feeling great afterwords, plus burning 100 calories per mile isn’t so bad either.

October 27, 2009 - Posted by | running, Self Discovery

6 Comments »

  1. I want to run the marathon in Nashville, I am so jealous!!!!

    Comment by Lori | October 27, 2009 | Reply

    • Not too late Lor!

      Comment by lpskins | October 27, 2009 | Reply

  2. I can’t wait for the CMM!!!

    Comment by Lisa Paige | October 27, 2009 | Reply

    • Me too! I wonder who’s playing at the concert.

      Comment by lpskins | October 27, 2009 | Reply

  3. you’re gonna have fun! nashville is awesome! be sure to hit up b.b. kings and good luck in the race

    Comment by Anonymous | October 28, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks! I’ve heard only good things about Nashville. I hope I see famous country singers!

      Comment by lpskins | October 28, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

