Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Vegetables make my stomach churn.

IMG_2030This is not usually the case. Typically I eat more vegetables than I have been, or at least I though I did. Since I’ve yet to have a vegetable today, I planned out my dinner accordingly. On the foreman went eggplant and mushrooms-the only vegetables I have in the house.  (Besides carrots which my sister keeps guilting me into not eating.) Anyways, I made them and the whole time I was thinking, ew..not for me, not tonight. What I really wanted was honey nut cheerios so I said, damn it all, if I want cheerios I’ll havecheerios. So I just enjoyed a nice bowl. Then I followed it up with a second bowl of a cereal blend.  P.S. Do yourself a favor and skip the TJ’s brand of Frosted Flakes. They’re a far cry from the real FF we all know and love.

I’m confused by all the eating rules we are supposed to follow. No carbs, no sugar, more protein, high carb, no wheat, hold the dairy, oy vey. I can’t figure out what’s what. They say that to work through disordered eating you must stop dieting. Do you hear that self? Stop dieting! This is a hard and scary thing to do because my justification for each binge is, “I’ll start (whatever diet) tomorrow.” With no more diet comes no more excuses. I must learn to understand hunger signs and not fear them. I think I’ve been hungry three times since I was sixteen. Not even kidding. I must learn to STOP eating when I am satisfied. But what the hell does satisfied feel like?  I never got the memo.  All I know right now is that I must change my behaviors. It’s the getting there that’s the hardest part.

IMG_2033

November 3, 2009 - Posted by | Food

7 Comments »

  1. Hey! How come Lisa doesn’t want you to eat carrots? Are they bad for dieting?

    Comment by Marla | November 3, 2009 | Reply

    • She says they are only sugar and carbs, which is true but they also have a bunch of nutrients which she seems to be forgetting. Carrots are here to stay for me!

      Comment by lpskins | November 3, 2009 | Reply

  2. They are good for your eyes! I think just don’t eat TONS of them! PS you should turn this blog into a book one day!

    Comment by Amanda | November 3, 2009 | Reply

    • Would the title be, “Meet the Fat Girl”

      Comment by lpskins | November 3, 2009 | Reply

  3. and…. your mixture of cereal looks right up my alley. I can’t buy cereal I’ll eat bowl after bowl!

    Comment by Amanda | November 3, 2009 | Reply

    • Clearly I can’t either. P.S. Hope you got the chance to listen to Carrie today bc I didn’t.

      Comment by lpskins | November 3, 2009 | Reply

  4. I just uploaded it to my ipod and plan on have a nice HARDCORE workout with it this afternoon!! Thank you so much for that special surprise! Love you!! We would need a funnier title then that! We’ll work on something 🙂

    Comment by Amanda | November 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

