Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Life after booty

My last day of booty camp is tomorrow which is both good and bad. I like the structure of bootcamp; someone tells you what to do and you do it. What I don’t like is getting home at 7:10 then having only a little bit of time to get showered, exercise the dog, blog, etc. There are only three days during the week that this is a problem–the other two days I either have no class or a late class. Although I have always been a morning exercise person, I think it’s time to attend some evening classes at my gym which will free up my mornings. This will require a lot of motivation on my part because it’s much more fun to just go home. Since I won’t have the strength training aspect anymore (which booty provides) I may start taking some yoga classes. I am the least flexible and least patient person I know. For those reasons I strongly dislike yoga. Those may also be two very good reasons to get my ass to some classes. I will definitely be continuing to run regardless. What helps you get to the gym at night?

November 4, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

9 Comments »

  1. I HATE YOGA TOO! My boyfriend is more flexible then me..Its torture though and embaressing becuase every pose is hard. I do it becuase I know I have to but I hate it. It is hard to get to the gym after work or class, especially when it gets dark at 5:30. This week I wrote a class to take at the gym on my calender for everyday of the week. Everyday I look at it and since it is written I would feel guilty if I missed it. I took lots of classes last winter and I loved it then I got lazy and started working out on my own, which is never as good. Its much easier to be able to rely on someone else to tell you what to do. I am not sure what classes your gym offers but I take combat, step, cycle and bodypump. They are all pre-correographed classes by Les Mills and they are great. I have body pump tonight, body combat tomorrow morning and body step tomorrow afternoon! Good Luck! So my advice it to make a schedule everyweek and plan what you are going to do at the gym, then you won’t be as likely to talk yourself out of going!

    Comment by Jamie Weinzimmer | November 4, 2009 | Reply

  2. Jaim, youre totally write and I love the idea. I am the same way too, if it’s on the calender I am more likely to actually go! Woah, you’re rocking three classes in two days? You are no joke sister! Love that your bf is more flexible than you. He looks tall! Hope all is well.

    Comment by lpskins | November 4, 2009 | Reply

  3. Working out at night is hard. I have a little home gym in my basement and I still find it hard to get motivated at night. All I want to do is relax after long day. Good luck to you! I’m going to try and get up tomorrow morning before work and work out in hopes that it will give me energy throughout the day. *crosses fingers*

    Comment by Jessica | November 4, 2009 | Reply

    • Oh I hope it works out for you. There is nothing better than feeling accomplished so early in the morning. I love starting my day off like that. You can do it but make everything convenient. Set your clothes out tonight, make sure your water bottle is filled, etc. DON’T SNOOZE! Good luck!

      Comment by lpskins | November 4, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hey girl! I work out ONLY at night- am NOT a morning ANYTHING 🙂 Anyway, I motivate by not stopping at home. AT ALL. I see it as a continuation to my day (like my duties for the day aren’t over until that is done)…and then I also coax myself with dinner. Oh and Yoga? LOVE IT. Give it a chance! Once you get past the “ohhhhmmmmmms” it’s all good!

    Comment by jessdownes | November 4, 2009 | Reply

    • If you say so. I almost (well, I did) lost my shit the first time they busted out an ommmmmmmmmmmmm. Was not expecting it and I could not contain myself. My friend and I just stared at each other and could not stop laughing. Obviously this is not acceptable in a yoga class which made our giggle worse. Ohhh good times. Maybe it IS possible to make it a night time routine. We’ll see!

      Comment by lpskins | November 4, 2009 | Reply

  5. I honestly, carry a picture of me in my car, which I look fat in and I wanna throw up every time I look at it, and that gives me the motivation to go to the gym at night…weird I know, but when I driving and I know I have to go to the gym, if I look at it, it makes me want to go!!

    Comment by Kellyann | November 5, 2009 | Reply

    • What an amazing idea. I’m sure I can find plenty of “fat” pictures to carry with me. OR would the skinny pictures work better?

      Comment by lpskins | November 5, 2009 | Reply

  6. I’m all about the fat one’s, because the skinny one’s make me think, oh i looked like that before so i can easily do it again, no need for the gym lol.

    Comment by Kellyann | November 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

