Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Manipulating the scale

I started thinking about my weigh-in tomorrow with mixed feelings. Assuming it will be a gain (let’s be honest here, did ya SEE what I ate this week?)  I need to be prepared for the feelings of failure that might surface. I am not unfamiliar with the scale climbing, but typically I’m the only one who sees it. I need to remind myself that this blog illustrates reality of my battle with eating; part of this battle is weight gain.

In high school my mother would make me go to the doctors to get weighed in since I was losing so much weight. I remember one afternoon drinking gallons of water so it would increase my weight. I refused to pee until I stepped on the scale. It wouldn’t be long till I started manipulating the scale the other way. Before every Weight watchers weigh in, I wouldn’t take a mere sip of water and would be sure to hit the bathroom up as much as possible.

The scale is simply a measurement tool, yet in it manages to impact how we feel about ourselves on various levels. Tomorrow I will weigh-in and move on. My identity is much more than the number on the scale.

November 6, 2009 - Posted by | Food

4 Comments »

  1. Love this post-soooo true! we do obsess with it and like you said its only a number NOT to define who we are. Have a great weekend! WFC about the scale already-let’s throw them out! : )

    Comment by stacey | November 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. Words of Wisdom.. love this blog.

    Comment by Marina | November 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. Great post….and thank you for the reminder that the number on the scale does not define who we are (although sometimes it’s hard for me not to let the scale determine my mood for the day)…it’s about being healthy and being ourselves =)

    Have a great weekend!!

    Comment by Salina | November 6, 2009 | Reply

  4. true dat.

    Comment by jessdownes | November 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

