Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Done and Done

IMG_2116This is the very first time I’ve had internet access since this morning and boy have I missed it.

The race…. it was hard and I was hurting but it was full of beautiful scenery. Our whole course was on the coast and it was 65 degrees with not one cloud in sight. As expected Erin left me in the dust at mile one. From there on out I was on my own. THANK GOD for my ipod. Last night’s cake left a cramp in my stomach for the first five miles but other than that I was good to go till mile 8. I decided to eat my gel (so yum) and right after that they were handing out Luna Moons (another type of running fuel). Since I cannot pass up anything free I grabbed one and carried it the whole rest of the way. The bags are only supposed to have 6 moons in there and mine had 14–not kidding. I ate about 6 along the rest of the course and then tossed the rest at the finish. At mile 9 my legs, back, and most of all my shoulder hurt. My watermelons for boobs took a toll on my traps for sure. The course was totally hilly and I walked up all the hills but one. Training along the Charles River does not help hill preparation since it’s all flat. All I kept thinking was that I would be the last one to finish. Obviously I knew that wouldn’t happen since about 900 women were running but I still had a complex about it. I am defintieluy not happy about my time (2.25) but whatever, it’s over. I am happy to report that I did not pee or shit in my running pants. Yes!

Having people cheering along the course makes everything better. I kept wishing I would come across Len although I knew that wasn’t happening  (he had prior obligations.) Next time I will make him go because there is nothing like seeing a familiar face to give you a boost. Every time I made eye contact with a stranger who was cheering me on I wanted to cry. Just felt so thankful.

After the run Erin and I stuck around to cash in on the goodies. I was hoping and praying for bagels but they were serving pizza and soup. Those were unappealing so I had half an apple and a bag of BBQ pita chips. Yum.  After changing in the parking lot we hit up Barnes and  Noble where I got a latte, a bagel with cream cheese and a book. I’m sorry to say that I don’t have any pics of the food because I snuck it into the movies. We went to a 4:05 showing of Couples Retreat before heading back to Boston. On the way home I ate a bag of trailmix and a granola bar. Trail mix came free at the race and the granola bar came free at the hotel.

Although we had a great time I am sooo happy to be back home with the bf and doggie. I missed them so much.

Stopped in Kittery, Me

IMG_2125

Car snacks

November 8, 2009 - Posted by | Food, running

4 Comments »

  1. Congratulations on your run. Don’t be upset with yourself and your time. The fact of the matter is that you did it and that’s all that really matters. You were persistent to press on and finish and that’s exactly what you did. I’m very proud of you!

    Comment by mom | November 9, 2009 | Reply

    • Aw, thanks Mar.

      Comment by lpskins | November 9, 2009 | Reply

  2. I second that. What an amazing experiance that you can say you did and finished! I wish I had that.. You should be happy that you have the drive to actually sign up, train, and cross the line, in one piece ! 🙂

    Comment by Marina | November 9, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Marina! You can do it too…

      Comment by lpskins | November 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

