Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Taking back control

I thought a lot about this last night and am taking some of your advice…. I’ve decided that a 30 day NO PLAN challenge starts today. This means that there will be no weight watchers, no calorie counting,  and no other diet plan. At some point in my life I must learn to follow my hunger signals. I have totally let food (an object) take over my power and I need it back. I think diet plans are great for other people who don’t rebel against them…. that person is not me. For the last 13 years I have used excuse after excuse to not follow what my body needs and at this point I don’t know how, but that’s what I need to learn.  If after 30 days I cannot stand another day of intuitive eating, then I can fall back to the same old patterns. These patterns have been comforting to me in some way, even though they’re bittersweet. I will have to take it day by day and it won’t be easy.

I was reading another blog and the topic was binge eating disorder. Apparently it is now the #1 eating disorder in America. For those of us who haven’t struggled with an eating disorder, they can be really hard to understand. I read a quote in Life without Ed and it sums eating disorders up perfectly.”From the outside, we can’t understand it. From the inside, we can’t explain it.” This is SO true.

My goals for today:

1. Intuitive eating

2.No hitting up the bins at internship

 

November 11, 2009 - Posted by | Self Discovery

4 Comments »

  1. Hey Lindsay….remember this…YOU are deserving of all great things!! No worries with this 30 days you’re going to do GREAT!!

    Have a fabulous day!

    Salina

    Comment by Salina | November 11, 2009 | Reply

    • Thank you Salina! And I’m writing as I eat, jut as you suggested.

      Comment by lpskins | November 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi Lindsay
    I am new to the intuitive eating plan too after years of chronic dieting and obsessive exercise. I am 2 months “sober” from dieting (and binge free) and my advice would be to simply relax. Your only job is to notice what is going on and to live consciously. Don’t worry if you still count calories in your head, you will soon start forgetting to do it. If you try to resist it (what resists persists) you will just drive yourself crazy.

    Best of luck with your 30 day challenge ~ I know you can do it. ♥

    Comment by KatieP | November 12, 2009 | Reply

    • Hey Katie, CONGRATS on 2 months sober. That is truly amazing. How has it been for you?? 2 months binge-free is a HUGE deal. Thanks for the advice to just relax.
      I need a little relaxing in my life.

      Comment by lpskins | November 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

