Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Burrito in the house

I had a little stint of no burritos but today they are back in action. Amy’s organic burrito with rice and beans to be exact. I also packed an apple since I’ve tricked myself into believing that something sweet is necessary after every meal. After my internship I will head straight home to work on this damn paper, which includes watching myself on video over, and over, and over. Oh the joys.

This week is flying by. Can you believe that Thanksgiving is a 8 days away? Holy crap. Wasn’t it just summer? Speaking of T-day, I’ll be spending it in Vermont with Lens family, my mom, and my grandma. Since I don’t eat meat, I need some recipe ideas. I plan to make a salad with apples slices and feta but I want another filling vegetarian dish. Any ideas?? Ideally something that doesn’t need the oven space since it will be occupied with a headless bird.

November 18, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. UM, isn’t pumpkin butter considered a side? hmmm… so where in vt? my husband’s parents own a condo there at bromley mtn.

    Comment by jessdownes | November 18, 2009 | Reply

    • It’s right near Saint J. Not sure where Bromley is though. And yes, apparently I consider PB a side.

      Comment by lpskins | November 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. There was an AWESOME looking recipe in November’s Bon Appetit which was this strata-casserole like thing, only not a strata because no egg and not casserole in the cheesy-goey feel bloated afterward sense. BUT, it was featured as an entree for a vegetarian T-day that could stand alone and rival any bird. The best part it is had Sweet Potato in it, which I know you must love (you’re a squash and pumpkin butter lover). Looked Yum Yum, but I never tried it.

    Look it up, or I can lend you my copy!

    Comment by Magoo22 | November 18, 2009 | Reply

    • P.S. It’s a cook-ahead and warm up thing…

      Comment by Magoo22 | November 18, 2009 | Reply

      • Love that!! Can you bring to dinner on Fri and I’ll check it out???? Thanks girly.

        Comment by lpskins | November 18, 2009 | Reply

  3. They have Tofurkeys! I hear they’re not bad…never had one myself. Also…I always make a spinach casserole….it’s easy and yummy! Frozen spinach thawed mixed w/cream cheese then you add stuffing mixed w/some butter on the top and bake!

    Comment by Katelyn | November 18, 2009 | Reply

    • I don’t dare show up at Lens with a tofurkey. I would NEVER live that down. Unless it involves pumpkin butter. Then we’ll talk.

      Comment by lpskins | November 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

