Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

The word of the day is POSITIVE

One more morning has passed without a workout. I feel like I need another attitude adjustment so today my goal is to stay positive. Since our thoughts influence our feelings and behaviors, I will work to have more positive thoughts. My goal for the week to not eat dessert until Thanksgiving. That’s right, this is a SERIOUS goal and it will take lots of hard work to keep away from the freezer. You know my routine; it always involves ice cream. I don’t think this breaks intuitive eating just because I’m setting rules. The truth is, I eat dessert out of habit not out of hunger.

I’m not ready for breakfast since I consumed everything in sight yesterday but I packed a yogurt in case of a hunger emergency. I have completed one week of intuitive eating and I think I did alright. I definitely binged two out of the seven days and overate on a couple days. Yesterday I started dreaming of joining weight watchers till I realized that it’s not in the game plan for now. Today I’m dreaming of counting calories. I just wish I could be normal. I’m exhausted from falling back into these patterns and barely climbing out. Really, it takes such an emotional and physical toll.

November 18, 2009 - Posted by | Food

2 Comments »

  1. Lindsay,
    You are putting too much pressure on yourself.What you weigh is not who you are. Try to focus on the things you like about yourself. I am talking from someone who wasted alot of years worrying about weight issues. It is a waste of time. Exercise some every day, well at least five days a week and try to go a bit easier on the pressures of the food thing. Use a small plate not a dinner plate and enjoy a little bit of what you like, eat real slow as if it was your last meal. Try not to have crap in your house. Apples and peanut butter fill me up for hours, but just a tablespoonful. I am a lot of years older than you and have wasted a lot of years on these issues. You get one body in this life, treat it good and work it out and it will take you for a great ride. You are beautiful and have alot to contribute to this world, go for it. I think your genuine honesty about these issues hits home for many people out there.

    Comment by Maureen | November 18, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Maureen, You are probably right but it’s so difficult to take change my thinking. I’m fine with the number on the scale so long as I feel good in my skin, which I don’t. I would LOVE to take the perspective of “having one body” and hope to someday. Thanks for the thoughts and advice. I will absolutely take it all into consideration.

      Comment by lpskins | November 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

