Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Updates on Yaz and Ellie

The good news is that Ellie’s paw look 98% better. We got the culture back yesterday and she basically has two types of bacteria, one of which is pretty serious due to the side effects of the meds she might need. Since her paw is healing so nicely, our doc said to hold off on the medication if we can. So, things are looking good.

I am approaching the first month of no birth control and I must say, it feels LIBERATING!!! I love not popping hormones and being a slave to a nightly pill. Of course I might take this all back when I get knocked up. (Kidding, Len…. kinda.) I haven’t necessarily noticed any mood changes, although I haven’t been as psycho as I was over Halloween weekend. They say it takes three months to actually notice any changes so we’ll see. I wish men had birth control options and obligations like women do. Lucky bastards, get away with everything.

November 20, 2009 - Posted by | Self Discovery

9 Comments »

  1. Like you…I stopped taking yasmin becuase of my horrific mood swings that i would tend to take out on my boyfriend. i have been off the pill now for over 2 years and i can not begin to tell you the difference it has made for me. i don’t think there is enough information out there on the terrible mood swings these little pills can cause. i wish you as much success as i have had with these little pills in my life!! btw…love your blog!! keep up the great work and keeping us girls like you out there inspired!!

    Comment by KM | November 20, 2009 | Reply

    • Hey! Thanks for the update on Yaz. Have you switched over to another type of BC? I not really interested in taking anything else…which is really a risky little game. Thanls for reading.

      Comment by lpskins | November 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. are you not on anything? Are you gonna pull a Trina?

    Comment by Trina Akiyama | November 21, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hey Linds! I love your blog–you are just too cute!! As for the the whole birth-control thing, I am totally with you on not popping those pills. A FANTASTIC read for all women (whether trying to prevent a pregnancy or cause a pregnancy) is a book called, Taking Control of Your Fertility. I think you’ll appreciate the enlightened, women-empowered view. Great job with the blog–keep it up! lots of hugs!! ~krista~

    Comment by krista toba | November 22, 2009 | Reply

    • Hey lady!! Thanks so much for taking the time to read and comment. That makes me so happy. I will look into that book for sure! Thanks for the rec. Hope all is well. You look happy, healthy, and gorgeous. xo

      Comment by lpskins | November 22, 2009 | Reply

  4. Lin, look up Yaz on the internet; it’s very scary what can happen when taking this pill. Very interesting reading; glad you stopped taking them.

    Comment by Mom | November 23, 2009 | Reply

    • You just want me to get off it so you can get a grand kid.

      Comment by lpskins | November 23, 2009 | Reply

  5. i HATED taking birth control pills…i took them for about 9 years and they just made me sick to my stomach.

    after i had my babies, i switched over to mirena. it is an iud they put in you, you can’t feel it, there are no mood swings or weird side effects, and it is good for 5 years, and you can have the dr take it out whenever you want if you want to have babies…you are fertile as soon as they take it out.

    i really have enjoyed having it…oh, and after the first year you have it, 90 percent of women dont get their periods or any pms anymore. it is fantastic.

    Comment by jenn graves | November 29, 2009 | Reply

    • I like the no PMS thing but doesn’t it hurt to go in??? My friend got one and said it KILLLED!! Good to know youre still fertile mertile once its out. P.S. The reunion looked like so much fun.

      Comment by lpskins | November 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

