Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Binge season is among us.

I love the holidays but boy do they make me anxious.My first party of the season is tonight and I have parties scheduled every weekend until January 23rd. This means that I will be faced with lot of new and delicious food choices. The drinking part I’m not worried about because I can nurse a couple glasses of wine and be happy with that. Parties= Vulnerability to binge. The advice I always get is,” focus on the people and not the food.” As hard as I try, there are still appetizers, meals, candy, and desserts around every corner. My game plan for tonight is to eat before I go and avoid the food table until I’m actually hungry again. Then I can eat intuitively without feeling guilt. I know that it’s important to be active regardless of what I’m eating. The worst part about over eating is feeling like shit the next day. I find it hard to be social and pleasurable to be around when I’m out of control. I found this article to be pretty helpful on how to avoid weight gain. (Sorry, I can’t seem to figure out how to actually link this so you dont have to copy and paste into browser.)       http://www.sawoman.com/1109/healthmatters.html

What are some ways you deal with the holiday festivities?

Before running this morning I ate a glow bar. I planned to only have half but couldn’t resist the whole thing. Our run was short but satisfying.

November 21, 2009 - Posted by | Food, fun, running

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

