Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Happy Thanksgiving blogettes (I’m pretty sure not many dudes read this so pardon the one sided gender reference)

Good morning! I’m out of bed with the hope of fitting in a short run or walk. I was up late because Len’s mom and my mom suddenly turned into teenagers and  chatted away till the crack of dawn.

On Thanksgiving, why is it that we must take a perfectly delicious sweet potato and turn it into a bowl of diabetes. WHY???? I know there will be about 4 different forms of potatoes here, none of which in their natural state. I’m confident that my dish is going to bomb. I picked up the final ingredients last night: Red quinoa (should have gone with couscous since it’s a little safer), can chick peas, dried cranberries, reduced fat feta, mushrooms, onions and peppers. I still don’t know what to use for dressing. I’m thinking just olive oil with salt and pepper, oil and balsamic vinegar, or just balsamic. Anyone have any ideas–it’s crunch time and I’m still clueless. Len told me that only he and I would be eating it. (Keep in mind there will be about 25 people here) but he hates feta so that just leaves me. Too bad so sad.

Erin sent me a link to what looks like a good workshop by a Dr.Christiane Northrup. She wrote the book,  Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom. It’s a live public taping in Portsmouth NH. Here the link:

http://www.themusichall.org/calendar/Event_Detail.asp?EventID=884

Here’s the recap that I just cut and paste  “Dr. Christiane Northrup’s vision of mind-body wellness has received an extraordinary response from women all over the world. Her groundbreaking classic, Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom, newly updated to be released in 2010, powerfully demonstrates that when women change the basic conditions of their lives, they heal their health problems faster, more completely, and with far fewer medical interventions.”

I’ll be posting throughout the day. Have a great holiday with friends and family. xo

November 26, 2009 - Posted by | Family, Food

2 Comments »

  1. Happy Thanksgiving Lindsay and family, I loved the pictures that you posted, so good to see Mar and Nana too. I hope to get together in person soon sometime. Love to all.
    Maureen

    Comment by Maureen | November 26, 2009 | Reply

    • Happy Thanksgiving Maureen! Love and hugs to you. xo

      Comment by lpskins | November 26, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

