Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Swollen eyes

So I won’t be having breakfast today considering I’m a bloated goat, and that’s okay. I always read about “The Green Monster” on Angela’s blog, Oh She lows. It’s a smoothie made with spinach or Kale and other things. Supposedly it’s the most amazing way to start your day. The thought of spinach or kale in a blender makes me sick but I want to give it a try this week. Has anyone ever tasted kale? To me it seems more like a garnish than something one should eat. What gives?

Tonight is my 10 year high school reunion. Although there are lots of people I want to see, it seemed that many people weren’t planning on going. I missed the deadline to actually get my money in so I won’t be attending. I’ll probably regret this decision later but for today when I’m bloated and full, I’m fine with it.

November 27, 2009 - Posted by | Food

8 Comments »

  1. First of all – I love your blog. I’ve been checking it religiously every day.
    Green monster – I had the same feeling, thought of spinach in a smoothie was grossing me out. I tried it regardless and I love it. I’ve been drininking it every day for the last two weeks. I’m doing the basic receipe : spinach, banana, flax seeds and soy milk. It is delish. Definetely worth trying.

    Comment by kas | November 27, 2009 | Reply

    • Hey, thanks so much for reading; it means a lot! Really good to know about the green monster. I bought flax seeds but they aren’t hulled. Do I need to do that? Also, how much spinach do you put in?

      Comment by lpskins | November 27, 2009 | Reply

  2. I use 2 cups of spinach, one banana, one spoonful of flaxseeds (i use the ground ones, I guess you could you regular if you have a good blender and some seeds wouldnt bother you in a smoothie), 1 and 1/4 cups of soy milk. I’m basically using Angelas recipe I saw on green monster movement website.I dont use ice because I dont like my smoothie too cold .

    Comment by kas | November 27, 2009 | Reply

    • Wow!! I can’t believe there’s two cups of spinach. Nasty. Okay, I’ll try it Monday but I’m terrified. Thanks for the inspiration and info.

      Comment by lpskins | November 27, 2009 | Reply

  3. you totally should have went to the reunion!

    Comment by jenn graves | November 29, 2009 | Reply

    • I know! Kicking myself now.

      Comment by lpskins | November 30, 2009 | Reply

  4. linds Kale is so good for you and def worth it if youare cutting out dairy (a mucus forming food). Theirs more calcium in it than milk in an extremely bio-available form. You should get a juicer if you can find a good priced one, it would be easier to drink than blending…in my opinion. Less chunky. You can find some on amazon I am sure, for a good price.
    Or you could also try stirfrying it up with a little salt and lemon.

    Comment by Trina Akiyama | November 29, 2009 | Reply

    • I borrowed a juicer from amanda and still havent used it. What do you juice it with? I’m nervous. Do you eat dairy?

      Comment by lpskins | November 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

