Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Snack, dinner and tree.

A Starbucks visit was in order so I’d actually get some work done. I packed a Glo bar and ate it along with a 17 dollar soy latte. As much as I hate paying so much for a drink, it’s worth it to enjoy their environment and get things accomplished. They really do a nice job decorating for the holidays. Look at the fake brick backdrop in the latte picture— so cute!

 

Love this damn bar.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By the time I got back, Len had unpacked our Christmas decorations and was ready to go pick up our tree. Last year we got one in Vermont on the way home from Thanksgiving but that plan didn’t work this year. Instead we went to a “tree farm” run out of an otherwise empty lot. That’s what happens when you live in a city. It’s wasn’t as weird as I had expected; they had tons of trees to pick from but we found our lucky lady right away. On the way back, we picked up some Magic Hat #9 (one of the best beers, ever) to make our decorating time even better. A little Christmas music, lights, ornaments and lots of pictures made for a lovely night.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Every year we pick out a new ornament for each other so they’re all meaningful. It’s fun to reminisce as each ornament gets unpacked. We tried to take pictures with the automatic timer but they all came out pretty bad. A for effort, I guess.

After the decorations and tree were up, it was dinner time. Len ordered a pizza but I had my sights set on the eggplant. I must admit, the plain canned sauce made for a pretty boring casserole. Not sure if the calorie cut was worth it. I also made a salad with lettuce, spinach, tomatoes, goat cheese, roasted edamame and fat-free balsamic dressing. Can’t forget the #9. There may or may not be an eclair in my future.

 

November 29, 2009 - Posted by | Christmas, Food, fun

12 Comments »

  1. Jump on the eggnog misto bandwagon already.

    Love the tree!

    Comment by Lisa Paige | November 29, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks! And no way–the nog tastes like old goat milk mixed with ass.

      Comment by lpskins | November 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. Your tree looks BEAUTIFUL! Good work, old bean. Also – the eggplant looks delic. I can’t believe you’re second guesing the sauce. I will never go back to the jarred stuff! Have a good week. xo

    Comment by Shleigh | November 29, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks! Hope youre happy with your beauty. Too bad we couldn’t tree shop together. Talk soon. xoxo P.S. That sauce bites the big one.

      Comment by lpskins | November 29, 2009 | Reply

  3. First, I LOVE your red walls! My mom painted our family room the same color a few years ago and I still love it. The tree looks great! The angel is so pretty! And ‘Empower,’in my opinion, is one of the best bars!

    Comment by Olivia | November 29, 2009 | Reply

    • I love that a photo comes up next to your comment. Empower is freaking fabulous but I just ate my last one. Sad day for me. Thanks for the paint compliment. I’m obsessed with the color because it warms up the room but it’s not boring.

      Comment by lpskins | November 29, 2009 | Reply

  4. Just wanted to say I also love the barnyard red wall color!

    Comment by Erin | November 29, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks erin!

      Comment by lpskins | November 30, 2009 | Reply

  5. what the hells a glo bar? It looks fantastically yummy. And that eggplant looks so good!

    Comment by Trina Akiyama | November 29, 2009 | Reply

    • Tri-I ordered Glo bars from a fellow food blogger in Canada. Her website is ohsheglows.com/ She has her own online bakery and cooks everything from her house. She is a vegan so her bars are too! They are so good but can be very expensive since it’s shipped all the way from up north.

      Comment by lpskins | November 30, 2009 | Reply

  6. Love the tree Lin; it looks beautiful!

    Comment by mom | November 30, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Mar. It’s petite.

      Comment by lpskins | November 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

