Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Tougher than I thought.

So I went to the gym but I didn’t do much of anything. I have a cold and my throat is super sore from only breathing in through my mouth. Instead I did some strength training, which is fine since I always seem to skip that part. The 5 ingredient thing is quite tricky. I had a meal planned out for tonight but after checking out the sauce (and its many ingredients) I cannot use it. My lunch went down the shitter as well so I ended up with a lettuce and spinach salad with black beans, goat cheese, olives and balsamic vinegar. I can’t believe how many ingredients cottage cheese has?! And my hummus? This is insane.

I’m sorry to report that I haven’t tried the green monster  yet (sorry, Katharina). I’m nervous about it!! I might have to bust out the juicer I borrowed from my friend to inspire me. Hmmm, I wonder what I shall make for dinner. Clean eating sure is hard.


					
December 1, 2009 - Posted by | Food

11 Comments »

  1. Exactly why I don’t buy store-bought hummus! SO many ingredients/preservatives. Do you own a food processor? Homemade hummus is SO easy to make and much cheaper! I have some great quick & easy combinations that I use all the time (and come to think of it, all are 5 ingredients or less!)

    Let me know if you have the processor and I will put a little list together for you!

    Comment by Olivia | December 1, 2009 | Reply

    • I do have a food processor. I’ve made hummus before but it never tastes good! I would love a list, thanks so much. Send it to my email and I’ll then make it into a guest post from you since your doing all the work!! THANKS LIV!!
      lpskins@hotmail.com

      Comment by lpskins | December 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. Why the hell are you limiting yourself to only 5 ingredients?? I don’t get your “one day” challenges sometimes. For what?? You’re just setting yourself up for disappointment sister. Sheesh. And I’m sorry, those green monsters look disgusting; kale, spinach and chocolate powder??? ICK!!!!!

    Comment by Lisa Paige | December 1, 2009 | Reply

    • LOL! I’ve tried spinach, a frozen banana, skim milk and berries, which is pretty good (you really only taste the banana and berries). The kale though…I just can’t stomach it in a shake – and I’ve tried. Twice. Bleck!

      I will send the list later tonight! (Reading/studying, or supposed to be anyway, right now!)

      Comment by Olivia | December 1, 2009 | Reply

      • So the spinach is good but the Kale is gross. Noted.

        Comment by lpskins | December 1, 2009 | Reply

      • No rush on the list. I hear ya with the studying and reading. School sucks sometimes.

        Comment by lpskins | December 1, 2009 | Reply

    • It’s an experiment… good god, settle down sister. Wouldn’t hurt for you to take a gander at all the chemicals in your fake foods too.

      Comment by lpskins | December 1, 2009 | Reply

  3. Maybe b/c the food with more than 5 ingredients is processed junk that does nothing good for your body. Just b.c a cookie has 100 calories in it doesnt make it good for you.

    Comment by l | December 1, 2009 | Reply

  4. I love processed….whoever you are

    Comment by Lisa Paige | December 1, 2009 | Reply

  5. Food is my passion. I find the best way to find love in keeping a slim and healthy body is to keep that sweet tooth as bay. If you do have a sweet tooth (or love salt for that matter), it may take you more effort to re-balance and re-adjust your tastebuds to like bland food. Fortunately, I live in the tropics and we have lots and lots of beautiful tropical fruits and vegetables to choose from, and we need them all the time because the weather is hot and humid all the time. Best of luck. — Just someone who loves food and cooking.

    Comment by Hanifa K. Cook | December 12, 2009 | Reply

    • Hey Hanifa, I definitely do have a sweet tooth so foods without it are totally bland. Any suggestions to fight back about sugar and re-balance myself? Thanks!

      Comment by lpskins | December 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

