Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

New twist on hummus–Thanks Liv!

I recently stumbled upon this wonderful blog, http://youcancallmeliv.blogspot.com and became obsessed. Olivia, the fabulous creator, makes the best food.. She likes her meals quick but healthy and I admire that. Yesterday we were commenting back and forth and somehow we started talking about hummus. She mentioned how she makes her own; I’ve tried this several times and my hummus always tastes like wall paper paste. She was nice enough to compose a guest post for us on her hummus making skills!!! I was shocked when I read her super secret to great hummus. Read and you shall see… (Thanks Liv!)

Liv’s Killer Hummus

First, I have to point out that I really like strong, spiced flavors in my food. Garlic, lots of black pepper, red pepper flakes, cumin, and tons of lemon juice and zest, just to name a few! So, naturally, these hummus combinations are heavily spiced! And as I’m sure you know, traditional hummus is made with tahini and since I’m not a huge fan, I just leave it out. Also, I don’t usually use chickpeas! I love them, but I like the texture of Great Northern or Cannellini beans much more. Much smoother/silkier, which means less Extra Virgin Olive Oil is needed to get the right consistency! They’re just as cheap as chickpeas (and obviously chickpeas can be used.) I guess my hummus isn’t actually hummus in the technical sense, more like an Italian version. Oh, and, I don’t measure, so bear with me! However, I really don’t think anyone could mess up these combinations!

Basic Hummus

2-15oz cans of Great Northern, Cannellini or Garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed

Zest of two & juice of 1 ½ lemons

2-5 cloves of garlic, grated, roughly chopped, or just thrown in processor

Pinch of sea salt

Lots of fresh cracked black pepper

Big handful of Italian parsley

Combine all the ingredients in a food processor & pulse until combined. Stream in Extra Virgin Olive Oil until desired texture. I don’t use much, maybe a few tablespoons, or about a ¼ cup.

Variations

  • Use lots of fresh basil, 2 sprigs of fresh rosemary, and/or fresh thyme leaves (off 5 or 6 sprigs) in place of, or in addition to, the parsley. This is really good with the Great Northern and Cannellini beans.
  • Use roasted garlic instead of raw. Roast 1 head of garlic – cut in half lengthwise, little EVOO, wrap in foil and roast at 375 for about 50 minutes. Once it cools, just squeeze out the cloves into the processor. Use the entire head! Yes, really. The flavor becomes really mellow and sweet.
  • Add cumin and/or coriander, or red pepper flakes to the basic version.
  • Add sundried tomatoes (jarred or oil packed) or roasted red peppers to the basic version.

Mexican Hummus

2-15oz cans of black beans, drained and rinsed

1 or 2 jalapenos (1 without seeds is fairly mild in spice, 2 with seeds = a lot of heat!)

2-5 cloves of garlic, grated, roughly chopped, or just thrown in processor

Handful of Italian parsley (or cilantro would work as well)

Zest and juice of 1 lime (may need more juice depending on size of lime)

Fresh cracked black pepper

**You may not need salt for this as the lime will give the same flavor. I usually don’t add any.

***You can also add chili powder, chipotle chili powder, roasted poblano peppers, etc.

Combine all the ingredients in a food processor & pulse until combined. Stream in Extra Virgin Olive Oil until desired texture. I don’t use much, maybe a few tablespoons, or about a ¼ cup.

December 2, 2009 - Posted by | blog, guest blogger

1 Comment »

  1. Those recipes really sound like something I would like. I am saving them. Thanks for sharing!

    Comment by kilax | December 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

