Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Bowl of boring.

Breakfast is oats, peanut butter, water/almond milk/soy milk, cinnamon, vanilla extract and water. It’s sitting here in front of me and not looking very appetizing. The smell is making me want to chuck.  It’s lacking sweet and thats what I want. The thing is, there are certain items that will send me on a binge. I don’t dare put honey, syrup or dried cranberries in there. That stuff is too good and will leave me craving more. My pumpkin butter is long gone and I’ve been resisting buying more for obvious reasons. What else could sweeten it up? (Other than artificial sweeteners; trying to avoid those.) Raisins would have been a good option or even some fruit I suppose, but I’m out. I’m totally jonesin’ for some Pom arils so a shop may be in my future.

Side note- I made TJ’s Pumpkin Pancakes for the bf last night and tricked him by trading out syrup and Agave in. He didn’t even mention it. Mwhahahaha.

December 5, 2009 - Posted by | Food

6 Comments »

  1. I use agave nectar. It is like honey, but a natural sweetener. I don’t know if it would have the same effect as honey as far as triggering you, however.

    Comment by beck | December 5, 2009 | Reply

    • I do have agave however I couldn’t really taste it when I put it in my oatmeal. I think I’m desensitized from sugar since I eat so much of it that even sweet things aren’t sweet enough.

      Comment by lpskins | December 5, 2009 | Reply

      • I just noticed that you wrote agave in the post. I am slow. I also like to throw a couple chocolate chips in there on occasion!

        Comment by beck | December 5, 2009 | Reply

        • hahah, no worries. I’m slow too. Yum to the chips but I could NEVER have those in the house. So limiting I am. They must taste melty and amazing.

          Comment by lpskins | December 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. linds! agave! Or pure maple syrup. Both are much better for us than honey in terms of being natural and everything. The other day Sota made me close my eyes to try something. I was hesitant because I hate doing that shit. But I bit into what tasted like a caramel apple…but instead it was a slice of an apple with a dried date. It was heaven in my mouth. I think alot of the times our eyes take control over our minds in terms of what is really tasty and good for us. Maybe we should all eat blindfolded!

    Comment by Trina Akiyama | December 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. btw, I have a hard time with oatmeal too, I always love it super sweet. But once before I had an oatmeal that a friend had simmering on the stove for an hour or so and in it a bunch of dried fruit too. It hardly needed any maple syrup in it after that.

    Comment by Trina Akiyama | December 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

