Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Procrastinating has its perks!

I have not done one second of work today despite being in front of the computer since one o’clock. I did however have a field day in the kitchen! With some help from Liv, I cooked up the most delish Butternut Squash Soup. I coated pre-cubed squash with olive oil, agave, cumin, cayenne, cinnamon, allspice, salt and pepper, then baked it at 375 for 40 minutes. At the same time I boiled up some vegetable broth using these weird vegan cubes. I liked them because they have all natural ingredients and minimal salt. When the squash was roasted and the broth ready, I blended everything together and viola, dig in. I would have never known to toss all those spices together so thanks Liv for showing me the ropes. The soup is super spicy and “activated heartburn” in my boyfriend but I think it’s just right. I’m a little bummed out that the recipe didn’t yield more soup but I wanted a thick and creamy texture without adding milk. If you haven’t noticed, I am very proud of myself. Yum!

Then I proceeded to burn off my taste buds.

This will be gone in no time.

Half way cooked

I used the same marinade for baked tofu. They are still baking so I cannot show you the after shot as of yet. I definitely used too much oil (2 tbsp) but whatev. Not sure how I plan to eat these yet.. maybe on a salad tomorrow? Hell, maybe I’ll use them to create a new and fabulous dish. Probably not.

December 6, 2009 - Posted by | Food, Recipes

2 Comments »

  1. OMG! Ok, let’s settle this- I visit you in Boston, you make me the soup, done and done. Squeeze a jog inbetween bowls of soup….maybe (not)

    Comment by jessdownes | December 6, 2009 | Reply

    • Done and done.

      Comment by lpskins | December 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

