Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Shopping, then work

Hiiii! It’s been a late morning for me as I am just getting my day started. Len scared the crap out of me last night and came home unexpectedly at one o’clock. When I heard the front door open I almost crapped in my pants. He LOVES snow and didn’t want to be gone on Boston’s first snow fall. Very cute. I didn’t work out, once again, and probably won’t today. We are heading out to do some Christmas shopping. I assume from here till Christmas the stores are going to be a shit show. I made a deal with all my family members that there are no presents this year since I won’t even be home for Christmas and because I am royally broke. Len’s family is humongous so lots of toys need to be purchased. Ho Ho Ho.

Craisins are a special gift.

For breakfast I ate a bowl of oat bran with 1 tbsp peanut butter and a 100 calorie pack of craisons. After yesterdays oatmeal I knew I needed something to sweeten it up. I stumbled upon 100 calorie packs which are perfect for me. Paying extra for portioned sizes is alright with me. Anything to prevent a binge.

Yesterday I bought a pack of pre-cut butternut squash. I want to try something other that baking them but don’t have any ideas. What else can be done with these orange cubes of joy? One day I will be a domestic goddess; with the help of you guys of course.

December 6, 2009 - Posted by | Christmas, Food

6 Comments »

  1. Girl I know how you feel about those 100 calorie packs, except for me it’s not things like craisins it’s things like granola and cereal and crackers that will make me binge like crazy, they don’t do 100 cal packs of cereal but here’s the thing I like to do..
    When I buy my favorite cereal granola etc. I measure out the serving size (usually just scoop out 1 cups worth) and put it in plastic bags. I do this to the WHOLE box.
    I know it sounds like a bitch but you know what it works for me and I like the idea of having something like bags of anything to just grab and I can eat the whole thing and not feel like an ugly fat ass or worse yet binge and eat the whole box of raisin bran and cry when i’m retaining water for 3 days haha

    Comment by Brittany | December 6, 2009 | Reply

    • Brit- don’t you think that cereal, crackers, etc doesn’t strike a binge for me. I could eat bowl after bowl of that shiz. Granola doesn’t even touch my grocery cart. I know better. Yeah, a box of raisin bran is just asking for gut rot! Been there done that. Seems like your plan to divide it up really sets you up for success. One day I’ll try that when I’m feeling really motivated.

      Comment by lpskins | December 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hmmm, I know you said you didn’t want to roast, but you could roast it all and make BNS soup! I usually coat it with olive oil & go crazy with the spices: cinnamon, cumin, cayenne or chili powder, ground thyme, curry powder, s&p, or whatever else I have … roast and then process it with chicken or veggie stock (you can also add milk or cream to make it extra creamy).

    Or you could just saute it with some other veggies (add the BNS first since it takes longer to cook) and mix with pasta.

    My mom made a pasta sauce using BNS and it was amazing. Reminded me of a vodka penne but without all the cream! I think she just roasted it, and pureed with milk or even just water until it was good consistency. And of course topped with parmigiano!

    If I think of anything else I’ll let you know! (anything to get away from studying….)

    Comment by Olivia | December 6, 2009 | Reply

    • LOVE the soup idea and I think that’s what I’ll do. How long and what temp should I roast. And by roast we mean bake right? I don’t really know the difference btwn bake and broil. Such a great idea! Thank Liv. So if I do the soup, and chose to add cayenne, do other spices do with that? How much cayenne should I use? Thanks Rachel ray.

      Comment by lpskins | December 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. Ha! I use ‘roast’ and ‘bake’ interchangeably. I’d say bake it at 375 for about 40-45 mins or until the squash is tender & browned on the edges.

    And yes, I usually add cayenne, cumin, a little cinnamon, and s&p. For the cayenne, I’d say about 1/4-1/2 tsp to start? I don’t really measure, so I think I might add around a full teaspoon, which def gives it some spice. I would add at least 1/2 tsp of the cinnamon and a full tsp of the cumin. You could also add maybe 1/4 tsp of allspice, cloves, and/or nutmeg.

    After I puree the soup I usually put it back in the pot to simmer for 5 minutes and check the spices. If it seems to spicy you can add some honey.

    Mmmm, let me know how it is!

    -Rachael

    Comment by Olivia | December 6, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks! I can’t believe you add all those spices. I will def. give it a shot as that sounds delish and it’s a damn miracle that I actually have all those spices. Thanks!!

      Comment by lpskins | December 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

