Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Bad ass in the kitchen

I am on a serious roll in the kitchen. By the time I arrived home I was STARVING! I made a last-minute switch to my afternoon snack and exchanged the yogurt/almonds for pretzels/tootsie roll pop. Not a smart idea as this broad was ravenous come 6’clock. I popped one of these bad boys in the micro as soon as I walked in the door. I know they’re supposed to be low in cals, blah, blah, blah, but throw some more cauliflower in there for god sake. I seriously could eat all this with one swallow.

As I was searching the kitchen for something to feed the bf for dinner, I caught a glimpse of two sweet potatoes. I sliced those bitches into wedges and in they went. It wouldn’t be my cooking if they weren’t burned so…. here you have it. Agave nectar was used for dipping. Is that odd?

After the cauliflower but before the potato I ate the yogurt/almonds from earlier. Finally, I am satisfied. Last week my mother mentioned that she was sending me a little present. I convinced myself it was peppermint bark and have been fearing the mailbox ever since. Well I got my gift today and to my surprise, it was addressed to Eleanor. She received her very first Bulldog ornament. It’s so damn cute!  As soon as I placed it on the tree, girlfriend pulled a nutty. She barked at it, cried to it, and tried to paw it down. I finally had to threaten her with the squirt gun to cut the noise. Thanks mama!

December 7, 2009 - Posted by | Christmas, dogs, Family, Food

9 Comments »

  1. hahahahah love your writing hun … good food ..and cute dog ….. xxx

    Comment by Neema Shaw | December 7, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Neema!

      Comment by lpskins | December 7, 2009 | Reply

  2. oh my gosh that is too cute!!!

    Comment by Kelli | December 7, 2009 | Reply

  3. I think the sweet potato looks good! I like it a little burnt! Oh and I’m glad you liked the soup!

    And I totally know what you mean about fearing mail from mom. My mom used to send HUGE jars of Nutella (from Sam’s Club…the MASSIVE ones), and I had to tell her to stop. I couldn’t handle it (i.e. I’d eat it all in no time. Gross.) I can’t even buy Nutella because I will eat it on toast for breakfast, lunch, and dinner every single day until it’s gone.

    Comment by Olivia | December 7, 2009 | Reply

    • Woah, that must have been costly shipping. I eat that stuff by the spoonful! My friend Meg is making everyone Nutella Truffles for Christmas and I politely said, don’t even think about it! BF got pissed that I’d pass such a treat up. Imagine Nutella Truffles? I never buy it bc it’s THAT good but the people I babysit for always have it so I know I’m screwed whenever I sit.

      Comment by lpskins | December 7, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hehe… cute dog story.

    Not that I have ever thought of being vegan just as an excuse to eat less, but your story about the peppermint bark made me think of how glad I am that being vegan will give me a valid reason to turn down my mother-in-law’s peppermint bark this Christmas (and all the other ridiculous homemade candies and cookies she makes). She usually tries to send us home (even me prior to being her daughter-in-law) with at least 2 HUGE containers of Christmas goodies. Bad for this girl with no self control! 😛

    Comment by Kristie Lynn | December 7, 2009 | Reply

    • Wow, I’d be screwed in that family. If I were a vegan I wouldn’t have just chowed down on two cookies. Oops! I am so envious and impressed by your motivation to stay true to a vegan life style. I tried it and lasted two weeks!

      Comment by lpskins | December 7, 2009 | Reply

  5. Lin, that picture of Ellie looking at the ornament is funny. And the video is a riot. It’s like she knows it’s another bulldog like her. That’s pretty smart of her!!!

    Comment by mom | December 9, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks to grandma for getting it for her.

      Comment by lpskins | December 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

