Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

The perfect date.

My friend Trina mentioned eating sliced apples with a piece of date on top. Since then I’ve literally been dreaming about eating loads of dates. I came across them at Trader Joes and could not resist the purchase. Buying a package of dates is like buying a bag of Kit Kats… very dangerous. They pack quite the calorie punch; each one has 50 calories and they aren’t big.  I could and would eat them all.The taste is sweet like honey. Sometimes I get grossed out eating them since they look like beatles. Don’t you see the resemblance?

For some reason I thought that figs were the same as dates. Google told me that wasn’t the case. Anyways, I had three of them after dinner last night and will probably eat the entire package a couple more tonight. My sister would NEVER waste all those calories on a shriveled niblet  but I say, hells yeah. Do dates make you poop like prunes do? (I’m convinced that’s a myth.)

For lunch, I am enjoying this crap casserole with a side of carrots and hummus. I also packed an apple just in case.

December 9, 2009 - Posted by | Food

7 Comments »

  1. Love your comments about what you eat! They do look like beatles…

    Comment by Jacqui | December 9, 2009 | Reply

    • Totally creepy insects.

      Comment by lpskins | December 9, 2009 | Reply

  2. I’ve never eaten enough dates in one sitting to know if it’s the same… but the poo-poo-prune rumor is no myth my friend!!

    I also have that problem with other dried fruits (apricots, figs, etc.) though I tend to love them all.

    Just a word to the wise chica, in case you do end up polishing off that package today– by some imodium!

    To the rest of the bloggies– sorry for the toilet talk. ;-P

    Comment by Magoo22 | December 9, 2009 | Reply

    • hahaha, i think i’ll monitor myself with the beatles.

      Comment by lpskins | December 9, 2009 | Reply

  3. Dates, prunes and raisins=pooop

    Comment by Lisa Paige | December 9, 2009 | Reply

  4. Am I weird? I eat prunes and dates (my favourite are from dole brand) all the time and no poop 😦

    Comment by kas | December 9, 2009 | Reply

    • Thats what I’m saying.. I swear that’s a myth!

      Comment by lpskins | December 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

