Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Confession

I did eat most of that pint last night but that isn’t my confession…..

I’m getting my haircut tomorrow for the first time in OVER A YEAR. You heard me. Last time I went she straight BUTCHERED my hair. I made the mistake of saying, “Just do what you did last time but make it a little shorter.” Apparently she had  no idea what she did last time. I hate sitting in the chair staring in the mirror so I typically do my best not to look. I left the salon, did some Christmas shopping, then HOURS later I looked at my hair for the first time. I knew it felt short but holy crud. She did the long in the front, short in the back look that just did not work with me. At all. I had to take matters into my own hands so I took a scissor and chopped off the front to even it out with the back. Before I knew it, I had no hair. Anyway, I haven’t been back because I needed some growth. I don’t really brush my hair (I know, redonk) and never blow dry it, etc, so it’s should be too damaged. I’m sure my hair dresser  thinks that I’ve been having an affair on her. Another confession. I hate going to see my  hairdresser when I feel fat. I don’t know what it is. She will be my motivation to work out today. Do you guys have people like that in your life?

You can kinda see how short it is in this picture.                                     And how freaking cute is this picture?

December 11, 2009 - Posted by | Christmas, dogs, Family, Food

10 Comments »

  1. Oh my goodness, hairdresser horror stories are the worst! It took me forever to find a stylist/salon that i liked, and reading this post gave me a good chuckle because I was like daaaah, I soo relate!

    And I know what you mean about,”feeling fat.” The thing is, we all always want to look our best. From somebody who spent a year of their life pretty much housebound because of insecurities, take my advice – there are going to be 100 days we don’t feel fabulous to every 1 day we feel fantastic. My motto is, “get up, dress up, show up.” Throw on your favorite outfit and do what you can to make you feel good about you, and it will show. You are a kind, funny, beautiful person and that’s going to shine no matter what. 🙂

    Comment by ginamastrog | December 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. What an inspirational tidbit Gina, thanks! Now I just need to find an outfit I feel good in and we’ll be all set. I actually know of a good hair salon in South Burlington if you’re interested. Thanks again.

    Comment by lpskins | December 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. I’ve been going to the same hairdresser for I think about 10 years and when I moved to Michigan I had her write down my exact color combination (I dye a shade darker than my natural), and the style of cut because I was terrified of having it screwed up! I’m pretty sure the stylist here thought I was a nut job and with the exception of getting a treatment to ‘amp up the color’ once in a while (I forget the name of it), I save all my cuts and colors for when I’m home. I suppose that makes me a hair snob but I don’t care.

    And I’m the total opposite! When I feel fat, gross, or just ‘blah’ (usually from not working out), I make an appointment to get at least something done (even just a blow out) and it makes me feel 98483 times better!

    Comment by Olivia | December 11, 2009 | Reply

    • haha,such a great way of looking at it. You are definitely not a hair snob–I’m sure hairdressers have seen MUCH worse.

      Comment by lpskins | December 11, 2009 | Reply

  4. I’m the same way as Olivia – I love making appointments to get my hair cut (or eyebrows waxed, nails done,etc) when I’m feeling down. You can’t change how you look weight-wise in an hour, but you can with a haircut 😉

    Comment by Kristie Lynn | December 11, 2009 | Reply

    • I think I should get more spa like things done like you two. We deserve it damn it.

      Comment by lpskins | December 11, 2009 | Reply

  5. Aww. I love your tree!

    I have not been to the hairdresser since August. I love her, but cannot afford her anymore. And I have no idea how to take care of my hair. It’s in a bun right now. I can’t wait to see your new look! 🙂

    We’ve known our hairdresser for a long time and she has witnessed all of my ups and downs in weight. I am embarrased to see her when I am heavy too.

    Comment by kilax | December 11, 2009 | Reply

    • Hey Kim, this was actually last years tree. Ellie was only 7 pounds in that picture now she’s 53 pounds. Looking at it I cannot believe she was ever so small.
      I am the same way- have no clue how to do my hair. It’s crazy. Mine is always back in a clip and most of the time I look like a homeless woman.
      Sending out The Reader tomorrow.

      Comment by lpskins | December 11, 2009 | Reply

  6. OMG I’m the same way! I think it’s because hair people always are dressed and look so cute all the time! I had to go after the gym once in my workout clothes and it made me feel like a hobo!

    Comment by Meghan | December 11, 2009 | Reply

    • Yes! They’re all stylish and fancy. Maybe I’ll get fancy too.

      Comment by lpskins | December 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

