Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Plate O Veg.

My plate was FILLED with vegetables but now they are in my belly!  I made my first attempt at roasted brussel sprouts but not without setting the fire alarm off twice. I’d like to think my oven seriously sucks but unfortunately it’s my cooking and my pans. (I burn everything so my pans are all burned too.) For the brussels, I used the same marinade that Liv helped my concoct–agave, olive oil, cumin, and cayenne. Very good. I also had a grilled portobello mushroom with a veggie burger on top. I had imagined the burger stuffed into the shroom but it didn’t really happen like that. Just when you thought I was all vegged out, I also had 10 baby carrots with hummus. I’m more than satisfied but not bloated. Perfect.

Loving this calorie king so far. (I know, I know, it hasn’t even been a full day yet.) I added in three glasses of wine and still have 470 calories to spare. I imagine some cheese and crackers in my life. Booya. (What a geek.)

There seems to be lots of holiday parties happening tonight. Still don’t have an outfit but I’ll deal with that in a couple hours.    P.S. Happy Hanukah to my bloggie Jewish friends.

December 12, 2009 - Posted by | Christmas, Food, fun

12 Comments »

  1. Mmmm! What kind of veggie burger is that? Looks good! I usually buy the black bean burgers and treat myself with the Amy’s (they’re so expensive! … but so good). And I’m loving it too. Total motivator!

    Have a good time tonight!

    Comment by Olivia | December 12, 2009 | Reply

    • Dr. Praegers. They don’t get crispy if thats your thing. They really fall apart quite easily but are soo good.

      Comment by lpskins | December 12, 2009 | Reply

  2. I want to eat up all those brussel sprouts; they look nice and burnt just like I like. The veggie burger looks yummy too. Have fun tonight and focus on mingling and having a good time with friends. LUV YA.

    Comment by mom | December 12, 2009 | Reply

    • THey were mar! next time im home we’ll make them. xo

      Comment by lpskins | December 12, 2009 | Reply

  3. LOOKING GOOD!

    Check out the brussel sprouts on my last post!

    http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/2009/12/mia-photo-update-new-contest-happy.html

    Comment by Katie | December 12, 2009 | Reply

  4. Lovin’ that veg plate! And yay to you for getting the wine in there 😉

    Comment by ginamastrog | December 12, 2009 | Reply

    • Too much wine, too many truffles.

      Comment by lpskins | December 12, 2009 | Reply

  5. Hey! I’m just catching up on blogs after my travels, and I wanted to let you know– the SAME exact thing happened to me at TJ Maxx last week! I tried on a million things, and they all looked like CRAP on me…I thought, My God, what is wrong here? I was feeling pretty bad about myself.

    But then I went to Kohl’s a few days later, and found a bunch of cute stuff that looked fine! I think it totally just depends on the store, from month to month. Sometimes they’ll have stuff that looks really good, and sometimes they just won’t.

    Of course, it’s really hard to remember that as you’re trying things on and nothing seems to fit or look good 🙂

    Comment by Anna | December 13, 2009 | Reply

    • Hey Anna, Yay for being at your destination!! Haven’t read up on you since your pup story (sob, sob) so I hope things went smoothly.
      1. I love how you love Kohls. I swear, every time I hear that name I forever think of my mother. (Don’t worry, she’s hip.) The women cannot get enough of that place. Seems like I should try hitting it up since everyone else scores big there.
      Thanks for the story… maybe I’ll try again next week.

      Comment by lpskins | December 13, 2009 | Reply

  6. This is hilarious.

    Raw carrots and hummus that looks like mashed potatoes.
    burnt brussel sprouts that look like snails
    finally the veggie burger that looks like carpet padding. For reference: http://blogs.suburbanchicagonews.com/boxing/Carpet%20padding.jpg

    Keep up the good work Lindsay I can’t get enough. 😀

    Comment by Greg | December 14, 2009 | Reply

    • Hahahha,, Hey greg! I love that you think the brussels are snails! Carpet padding??? Rude. Clearly you haven’t experienced Dr. Praegers. You are one funny. guy.

      Comment by lpskins | December 14, 2009 | Reply

      • Oh my…. I just checkout out the link. It DOES look like carpet padding.

        Comment by lpskins | December 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

