Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Thank the Lord for Saturdays.

Thank you everyone for such thoughtful and uplifting comments regarding last nights post. Clearly I was having a self-pity moment. As women, I’m sure we have all had a time when we felt bad about ourselves for some reason or another. It feels liberating to sort of put it out there and to then receive such positive support. Thank you. I’ve decided to start fresh and do something helpful for myself today.  No, I’m not getting my haircut but I will work out and that alone always helps.

Onto the weigh in. It’s no surprise that after eating Ben and Jerry’s for two nights in a row I might gain. And I did. I’m fine with it and took it into consideration last night right before I shoved a gooey, chocolate, marshmallow spoonful into my mouth.

After emailing back and forth with a bloggie friend, I have decided to follow her lead and join Calorie King. I have been a member before and it is truly a great resource. It calculates the days calories and has everything in the data base so it’s easy to find. CK also breaks down you food into food  groups and calculates vitamins and minerals. How cool is that? I know that there are free versions of calorie counting sites out there…. I’ve joined a few but find them much less convenient (sparkpeople). Len always says I like to throw away money; this might be true (but only when it comes to diets and I have faith that one day it wont be wasted.) I will be testing out their free trial for one week before fully committing.

So that’s pretty exciting! CK is also cool because it calculates in the calories you burn from working out and makes you eat them. I used to feel guilty eating the calories back but from what I’ve learned, it’s part of the calculation and to follow it as is. Okay then.

December 12, 2009 - Posted by | eating disorder, Food, Workout

8 Comments »

  1. Livestrong.com has a good free version

    Comment by Anna | December 12, 2009 | Reply

    • Oh thanks Anna, I’ll check that out right now.

      Comment by lpskins | December 12, 2009 | Reply

  2. Good luck with Calorie King! I tried dailyplate (the one Anna mentioned) but found myself too obsessed with it. I hope it works for you 🙂

    Comment by kilax | December 12, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Kim!

      Comment by lpskins | December 12, 2009 | Reply

  3. I bought just the calorie king software it’s a one time fee of $30, and I love it. I am not a monthly member, but this really puts things in perspective. Good Luck!

    Comment by Kelly | December 12, 2009 | Reply

    • Hey Kelly, So whats the software all about? What perks are you not getting? Getting? That sounds like a better option.

      Comment by lpskins | December 12, 2009 | Reply

  4. Well, I dont really know the differences then the monthly membership, but if you go to the website I think you can download it there. I did it a long time ago. But you can just input what you eat, it keeps track, and has targets for the day. Tells you when you go over, under, etc..and you can put in exercising. Its just on the desktop as a program. You can add foods that you eat often that are not already in there, etc..its pretty cool. Some times I am really good about it and sometimes i just use it as a reference to check something and how many calories it has. I like it.

    Comment by Kelly | December 12, 2009 | Reply

    • Hmm, it sounds exactly like the one version you can pay monthly for. I suppose the only difference is that you can access CK from anywhere rather then on only one computer. Still worth it though. If I dont use it everyday this week then I wont be a member. Thanks for the info!

      Comment by lpskins | December 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

