Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

AHHHH! So excited about the sugar free challenge.

Hey guys,

I am JUST getting around to reading your comment and am head over heels with excitement that people want to make this a legit- sugar-free challenge. Since the idea wasn’t posted until afternoon, I say we start this bad boy tomorrow so everyone can start together. Jaime left a comment mentioning that it takes 21 days to break a habit–(thanks Jaim). I still think we should with seven days, then touch back regarding extending it further.  Small steps so it isn’t so overwhelming.

This is going to be soooo hard considering my rotted sweet tooth but I have faith in myself– more so now that other people are working hard too. Let’s do this!

December 14, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

17 Comments »

  1. I like that we are starting tomorrow. Maybe the full 21-day after NYE?

    Comment by kilax | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. Oh my gosh, that’s so clever. Or, after the 7 days, we could extend it to the full 21 with one cheat day–for me that would be Christmas?!

    Comment by lpskins | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  3. I’d like you to know that I just finished off the last of my dark chocolate bar w/crystallized ginger, so it wouldn’t be staring at me all day tomorrow!

    CK is going well, I went over yesterday, which gave me enough motivation to run for an hour to ‘earn’ it back. I’m not so much worried about the next couple days though because I have exams to worry about. If I’m hungry – I’m going to eat, and studying really makes me hungry! Yesterday was brutal, my tax exam was difficult, but I think I did fine. It’s one area of law I’m decent at.

    Tomorrow though…pray for me!

    Comment by Olivia | December 14, 2009 | Reply

    • Good work… with the exam and eating up that delish chocolate bar. Nice work with CK then running your ass off! You go girl. I cannot wait for your exams to be over so you can blog again.. I never though I’d say this but I’m sick of looking at that tortilla pizza.

      Comment by lpskins | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  4. GOOD LUCK with the sugar free challenge….you are my hero =)

    Comment by Salina | December 14, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks, don’t be too proud yet.

      Comment by lpskins | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  5. I’m going to give your challenge a shot! I have been feeling completely addicted to sugar lately. It’s going to be hard giving it up this week. Tomorrow a woman at work is bringing in her annual chocolate load. It honestly fills her fan. More chocolate than you can imagine. My plan to get through it: takes a few pieces and save them for next week. This way I won’t pig out on it all week like I normally would. And then there’s the holiday party on Wednesday where they’ll be yummy brownies and cookies staring at me. Maybe take one brownie and stick it in the freezer? Thanks for this great idea- it already has me excited knowing that I won’t be spending the next 7 days in a sugar coma!

    Comment by Kelly (The Running Phoodie) | December 14, 2009 | Reply

    • Hey Kelly! Thanks for commenting and joining the challenge. I would die if I had to be faced with a chocolate load. That women is the devil. Your plan to take the chocolate and brownies is quite amazing. I will send you a present if you actually do that and resist. Seriously.
      I think the next 7 days will probably be hard for all of us, esp. with all the parties and time of year in general. We can do it! Keep me posted after tomorrows choco-feast!

      Comment by lpskins | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  6. I’m down for giving it a try! My problem is that I get low blood sugar sometimes..but instead I’ll just have to make healthy choices ughhh haha I’m glad to see so many people up for the challenge..made me wanna try it!

    Comment by Jamie | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  7. The big issue I have with banning a certain food is that a lot of times it just results in horrible binging. Which would defeat the whole purpose. But good luck to you!! My biggest problem right now is middle of the night eating. It NEEDS to stop. Esp with all the holiday temptations right now. I need to be on point at home to counteract any other indulgences. Why is it when nighttime comes my willpower seems to go out the window??

    Comment by Becky | December 15, 2009 | Reply

    • Becky, are you waking up in the middle of the night then eating, or eating too much before bed? My boyfriend eats throughout the night–he sleeps horribly so I think it’s mostly out of boredom and he doesn’t eat much during the day. I tend to eat too much or binge right before bed which is just plain stupid.

      Comment by lpskins | December 15, 2009 | Reply

      • I have been working on cutting back my pre-bedtime snacking and have been fairly successful. Baby steps. But I am still waking up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom and wandering into the kitchen. And then do stupid things like have a “taste” of peanut butter. Which never ends well. For some reason I seem to think I can just have a taste when I KNOW that I can’t. But my common sense/will power seems to be muted in the middle of the night. It’s just so frustrating to eat well all day and then end up messing up in the middle of the night.

        Comment by Becky | December 15, 2009 | Reply

        • I feel the same way… I get so pissed at myself on those days where I eat so well then sabotage myself at night. I would drink less water at night so you never wake up to pee in the first place!

          Comment by lpskins | December 15, 2009 | Reply

          • Ha! I’ve actually instituted an 8pm liquid cut off time for myself to try and avoid needing to get up. Which sucks because I love having hot tea at night. But even with not drinking fluids at night I still wake up. Usually an hour or two after falling asleep. It’s so annoying. I try to just force myself to stay away from the kitchens. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t…

            Comment by Becky | December 15, 2009

          • Bummer…. Anyone have advice for Becky???

            Comment by lpskins | December 15, 2009

          • Well last night I only had a handful of baby carrots. So I consider that a success.

            Comment by Becky | December 16, 2009

          • I sure would! Congrats becky.

            Comment by lpskins | December 16, 2009


Leave a Reply

