Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Putting sugar on the back burner.

I decided on a one week sugar free challenge. I am only starting with one week because I think it will be really hard, even if just for seven days. This does not include yogurts, or natural sugars such as fruit. Anyone want to join me? I’m just addicted to the stuff and it is not a good thing. Sugar is a serious trigger for me that almost always leads to a binge. Ideally I could eat this in moderation but for now, it’s not the case. Not even close. The challenge starts today and is proving to be hard next to these bins of horror. 

December 14, 2009 - Posted by | Food

16 Comments »

  1. I was reading an article online the other night that says it takes 21 days to beat a habit. I was trying to figure out how to stop eating at night!! Ugh..that’s my downfall. It said it takes your body/brain 21 days to get rid of the craving. It’s hard for me to beat a craving for an hour let alone a day or 21 of them!! ahh! good luck with the no sugar..esp with the holidays! That will really be a challenge! I might have to try it myself..after I eat a cookie or two or ten. :-X

    Comment by Jamie | December 14, 2009 | Reply

    • I’ve heard this before too but it is soooo overwhelming thinking that long term. I know, only 21 days but I love my pastries. Seems like you get what I’m saying about not being able to resist a craving. Damn those cookies.

      Comment by lpskins | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. I will totally do this with you! I did eat a few cookies today though and have 2 Dr. Peppers (my weakness). I will start tomorrow morning and do this for 7 days. 🙂

    Comment by Christina | December 14, 2009 | Reply

    • No worries Christina, We’ll start tomorrow. Drink those Dr. Pepps up tonight!

      Comment by lpskins | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  3. i’m with you on this! =D

    Comment by traynharder23 | December 14, 2009 | Reply

    • Whoo hooooooooooooo!

      Comment by lpskins | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  4. Yes, I agree with Jamie. It does take that long, basically a month to make or break a habit. This system has worked for me in the past and has helped me overcome a lot of things and start some great new habits. I have faith in ya, girl! 🙂

    Comment by ginamastrog | December 14, 2009 | Reply

    • A month seems like FOREVER Gina!!!!

      Comment by lpskins | December 14, 2009 | Reply

      • Haha iiii think you could do it! However, sugar is a pretty faboosh thing to have in a person’s life, soo 7 days might be totally better. You need to have cookies when Christmas comes, duh! 😛

        Comment by ginamastrog | December 14, 2009 | Reply

        • Sugar does make the world a happier place.

          Comment by lpskins | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  5. I will do the challenge in that I will give up my nightly chocolate desserts and have something healthier instead – like a heated apple with cinnamon or a yogurt or something. I want to get out of the habit of eating so much chocolate every night, but I do not want to say no to all sugar.

    Comment by Trish | December 14, 2009 | Reply

    • Whatever works for you. We should interpret this challenge in a way that best suits our needs!!!

      Comment by lpskins | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  6. I am totally in. I’ve been thinking about doing this. Hmm. Have a I had an sugar today? Do animal crackers count? 🙂

    Comment by kilax | December 14, 2009 | Reply

    • Kiiiimmmmm! We’ll start tomorrow but I dont think animal crackers count.

      Comment by lpskins | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  7. I’m in! Although salty foods would be much harder for me to give up!

    Comment by Olivia | December 14, 2009 | Reply

    • So do salty instead of sweet! Whatever floats your boat. How was your exam?

      Comment by lpskins | December 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

