Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Random eats

After work I was hungry but wanted to wait till the bf came home. I had carrots and a red bell pepper with hummus to hold me over. When he arrived home with more bagels (per my request) I said, yes please.  I also wanted something salty so I had more squash with spaghetti sauce and tofu. I am full now.

So.. I’m starting to question our dedication to this whole marathon thing. Here’s my problem– I have absolutely NO desire to run a marathon alone. We (bf and I) ran the Vermont Key Bank Vermont May in 08–one marathon is more than enough for me. However, we thought it might be fun to train again together, and to run in a fun place such as Nashville. Our marathon training was supposed to start over two weeks ago. We have not followed our training plan at all; we’ve gone running once.  I know Len is struggling to want to run. I don’t have the mental strength to train alone but also don’t want to hassle him. I don’t know. We need to figure it out fast since the weeks are slipping by.

Anyway, how are you guys? I hope you all had a great Monday.

December 14, 2009 - Posted by | Food, Marathon Training, running, The Boyfriend

6 Comments »

  1. Umm, you better not bail on me. I’m already registerd and booked a damn flight. Why the hell do you guys want to run the full anyway?? Just do the half with me.
    There. Problem solved. Now carry on with your “sugar-free” challenge.

    Comment by Lisa | December 14, 2009 | Reply

    • We won’t bail but I also cannot imagine paying registration/plane tickets/hotel for a half. Ahhhhhhh. Damn you for having that whole bag of cookies.

      Comment by lpskins | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hey, no worries, people get busy and schedules change! If you still want to run it, I’m sure you can and you’ll do great. 🙂
    I’m looking into signing up for that snowshoe race you posted about!

    Comment by ginamastrog | December 14, 2009 | Reply

    • Maybe I’ll consider it to. The only tough part is that we’ll be away every weekend in January except for that one so we might need a travel break. Looks like it will be a blast though.

      Comment by lpskins | December 15, 2009 | Reply

  3. How far behind are you? Are you following an 18-week schedule? I know there are good 12-week schedules. As long as you have the base, you should be able to jump back in. (Oh, and there are even some schedules were you only run 3x a week – I think that is what I will do for my full)

    Comment by kilax | December 15, 2009 | Reply

    • Well the half marathon isn’t until April 24th….so technically its eighteen weeks away as of next week. I question our motivation to train for it. I am totally willing to but I need the bf to be just as willing, or it’s just not worth the stress. And if we’re going to do it, I want to do it right. Ya know?

      Comment by lpskins | December 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

