Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

You’ll need to sit down for this one.

Can you imagine eating something so wonderful? I can. Yesterday one of our clients (she’s 12 by the way) was eating Grapes Leaves. Nice taste for a little munchkin. I wanted to rip them right out of her hand and run for the hills. (Did I mention she’s 12?) It was then that I planned todays visit to Second Cup Cafe. This salad included a falafel, two grapes leaves, hummus, baba ganoush, tabouli, one piece of bread, tahini and balsamic on the side. Ridonk! I ate everything but the mound of hummus. I have no clue how many calories this all is but I counted it as 515 by choosing a random mediterranean dish listed on Calorie King.

Believe it or not, if it wasn’t for this crack-free challenge, I’d be searching for something sweet right now. I know I could have some fruit but somehow that just isn’t tempting. What are your favorite sugar-free snacks?

December 15, 2009 - Posted by | Calorie King, Fight the crack, Food

9 Comments »

  1. omg the salad looks so delicious! Way better then the dry piece of toast I had for lunch… As for the sugar-free snacks: don’t make the same mistake as I and snack away on peanuts, cashews, (basically you should avoid nuts in general if you have as little self-control as I do) because otherwise you’ll end up gaining 2 pounds instead of losing. And that, I guess, is not the point of cutting out sugar… :§ xo

    Comment by Marie | December 15, 2009 | Reply

    • Hahah, sorry about the nut saga. Nuts are actually one thing that I can control. Nuts covered in chocolate…. now that’s another story.

      Comment by lpskins | December 15, 2009 | Reply

  2. Looks awesome….much better then my take-out lunch today!!

    Comment by Jacqui | December 15, 2009 | Reply

    • Ummm, that eggplant looks delish. And dont even get me started on the salt and vin chips…my favorite. You already know my feelings on your chocolate.

      Comment by lpskins | December 15, 2009 | Reply

      • Haha, thanks. It was good but I give you major points for avoiding sugar for a week….I might try a day, I need the break…..

        Comment by Jacqui | December 15, 2009 | Reply

  3. ah, man, we could so have the best discussion/recounting of mmeories of favoritism in the family. seriously. we shall sit down over tea/coffee/diet coke?/water and SPILL DA BEANS. =D

    tuesday is going okay…except for when i was totally embarrassed as such:

    i was sitting in the waiting room for my TB test. TUBERCULOSIS TEST.
    someone i know comes by: hey! what are you here for? you okay?
    me: i’m fine, justa TB test.
    him: YOU HAVE AN STD? AND STD?
    (everyone in waiting room STARES AT ME)
    me: NO! A LUNG DISEASE TEST

    FML.

    Comment by traynharder23 | December 15, 2009 | Reply

    • Who does that???? Hello…STD’s are so “in” right now. Kidding. But seriously…. that person should feel much more embarrassed than you. Talk about having no social graces.

      Comment by lpskins | December 15, 2009 | Reply

  4. LOL on the blog roll thing. I made the page when I made the blog, but I recently updated it with blogs I’ve started reading since starting my blog (since, ya know, I never knew about yours before I started mine!) 🙂

    I know you said you’re not feeling the fruit, but what about frozen fruit? Frozen mango and cherries are one of my favorite sweet things.

    Comment by Kristie Lynn | December 15, 2009 | Reply

    • Frozen fruit just doesn’t do it for me! I feel like it gets freezer burn so fast!

      Comment by lpskins | December 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

