Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Book Talk

There has been no dipping in the bins today despite a whole new assortment of sugary processed treats. Can I get a hell yeah! Ipacked a pretty standard snack of yogurt and almonds. I feel like I am breaking the no sugar rule but I don’t really consider Dannon Light N’ fit to be sugar, per say. It has lots of crap in it, like artificial sweeteners and such, but it’s no whoopee pie. Cut the girl some slack. Speaking of whoopee pies, I want one. They could easily be considered one of god’s greatest gifts.

It seems like I started the book, Life Without Ed, forever ago. It’s taking a while to get through because I only read it on the bus going to and from my internship, which is four miles total. Clearly it isn’t one of those books I just cannot put down, but it has some decent parts. Before reading the book, I had never thought about separating myself from my eating disorder and making it its own identity. I still have a hard time wrapping my head around that concept. However, I was surprised to hear my client talking about her relationship with “Ed” today–meaning her eating disorder. I felt so thankful that I knew what she was talking about so I didn’t look like an ass and say, “Who’s Ed?” Although it hasn’t been a helpful book for me, it seems to be a good fit for others.  If anyone wants to have the book when I’m finished, shoot me an email and it’s all yours. Spread the love, peeps.

December 16, 2009 - Posted by | eating disorder, Fight the crack, Food, Life without Ed

4 Comments »

  1. have u tried the cocoa almonds? Those things are like crack!!

    Comment by quarterlifewellness | December 16, 2009 | Reply

    • Love them! There’s a lot in those little bags, too.

      Comment by lpskins | December 16, 2009 | Reply

  2. Yay! You are doing so well on the challenge! My coworker made me vegan cookies and brought them today. And Steven is making some at home. I will probably put them all in the freezer!

    Comment by kilax | December 16, 2009 | Reply

  3. good girl on the sug! I could never do it! anyway, I am over “ed” also actually linds. I read the second one, and it suuuuucks so now i hate the first…that’s loyalty for ya.

    Comment by jessdownes | December 16, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

