Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Dress warm today!

First, I finally got around to creating an actual blog roll–you can find my favorite sites under my Obsessions page. If I have forgotten about you, it wasn’t intentional and I apologize. Blog rolls are pretty cool for a couple of reasons. One, it’s a way to support one another in the blogging community. I have found all my favorite blogs through other peoples blog. (Except two.) It’s a way to spread the word around. And two, it shows love to the people behind the blog. I cannot tell you how excited I get when I click on someone’s blog and see goodies galore on someone’s page. It’s such a great treat.

Moving on to another reason why I love my boyfriend. Len had an event last night and arrived home at about 11:30. He hadn’t had dinner so naturally he made a pit stop at McDonald’s on the way home. He walked in with some sort of burger, fries (which he never eats and that annoys me) and a (what seemed to be) 40 oz milkshake. Proudly he said, “Even though I wanted Strawberry, I got chocolate so you would have some with me.” And this my friends, is why I am going to be a bed-ridden fat lady with bed sores. I happily passed on the shake, strictly for the no-sugar challenge.

I can’t quite figure out what breakfast is going to be. I definitely need to add more protein to my day because I was starving last night before bed and looking back, I really didn’t have much for protein. I think I’ll stick to a banana with peanut butter– sorry no picture.

December 16, 2009 - Posted by | blog, Fight the crack, Food, The Boyfriend

16 Comments »

  1. that was really sweet of him thinking of you 🙂 I have the same problem with my hubby, he always gets me treats which makes relly hard when I’m trying to be on diet – my weak strong will alwyas gives up and I will have treat reagrdless.

    Comment by kas | December 16, 2009 | Reply

    • I totally know how you feel. How hard is it to actually pass up the treat then watch the men indulge??? Feels good in the morning though when we wake up feeling refreshed and not bloated!

      Comment by lpskins | December 16, 2009 | Reply

      • dude- i KNOW! my husband leaves “friday treats” in my car- usually of the candy bar variety! oy!

        Comment by jess | December 16, 2009 | Reply

        • That’s plain rude.

          Comment by lpskins | December 16, 2009 | Reply

  2. I just saw your “Obsessions” tab today and thought I missed it! So exciting! 🙂

    The ONLY breakfast that really keeps me full for a good 4 hours is my oat bran, chia seed, fruit (anything, berries, 1/2 apple, banana, etc) & pumpkin butter combo. I know that if I opt for anything else, I’d better be prepared with snacks because nothing else keeps me full for very long!

    I should have probably nixed the pumpkin butter this morning in light of the sugar-free challenge, but I need to get through this jar before I leave on Sunday!

    Blogging will resume tomorrow!!!! (maybe even tonight!)

    P.S. I totally have a treat for you. I can’t tell you what, lol, but I’m going to mail you something (small, don’t worry), so I will need your address!!

    Comment by Olivia | December 16, 2009 | Reply

    • WHAT????? Treat for ME?!!! I’m flipping out, thank you! I’ll FB you my address, cause we’re cool like that. I also have PB in my fridge but haven’t touched it since the challenge. It tries to lure me in though.
      More importantly, how are you? Are you managing your finals stress okay? Please hurry to the blog world soon, we miss you. Also, I hated that you fell last in alphabetical order.

      Comment by lpskins | December 16, 2009 | Reply

      • Last night was bad. Really bad. I was up at 4am and by 7pm (an hour into my second exam) my head was pounding, I was starving and light headed, and just so out of it. I honestly think I’m going to have to take that class again and was so upset last night just thinking about it. Oh well, nothing I can do now.

        Oh and I’m probably going to send it from Yardley since I think it will be cheaper/faster than from Michigan.

        Just the other day I was thinking maybe I should change it to “Call me Liv” … not sure though. I’m also considering buying my own domain (is that the name of it?) LOL. It’s so sad that I actually took TWO classes in college on multimedia design/web page building and have NO idea what I’m doing! I’m meeting with an old prof over break for a quick refresher course!

        Comment by Olivia | December 16, 2009 | Reply

        • Oh no, I’m so sorry. Hopefully you’ll do better than you are expecting. Thats what sucks about law–you’re whole grade depends on one test. Total BS. I think you should keep it, you can call me liv, it’s catchy. It’s like a sassy intro. What are the perks of buying your own domain? I have no clue if that’s correct or now. Technology and I are not friends.
          So is you next and last one on Sunday? Go get a massage or something. You need and deserve it.
          P.S. My mom and gram will be in Yardley for Christmas but I wont. Boo!

          Comment by lpskins | December 16, 2009 | Reply

  3. that’s such a sweet boyfriend! thinking of you! =D
    pb and banana? do share. =D

    Comment by traynharder23 | December 16, 2009 | Reply

    • I ended up with a pear and string cheese! Sorry no photo. My banana was way too mushy to take on the road.

      Comment by lpskins | December 16, 2009 | Reply

      • I HAAAATE bananas! it is awful- if I only loved bananas! they are sooo good for yoU!

        Comment by jess | December 16, 2009 | Reply

        • Who hates bananas?

          Comment by lpskins | December 16, 2009 | Reply

  4. hahhaha it was kinda dirty. although there is a certain reader out there that LOVES pb banana pictures like that. seriously. coz they’re sooo Dirrrrtyyy. cue christina aguilera.
    string cheese. how do you eat yours? peel like a twizzler? or just chomp chomp chomp in 5 bites?

    Comment by traynharder23 | December 16, 2009 | Reply

    • hahaha, chomp chomp chomp.

      Comment by lpskins | December 16, 2009 | Reply

  5. Ummmm, where’s 923NOW.com??????

    ADD ASAP…

    thanks sissy

    Comment by Lisa Paige | December 16, 2009 | Reply

  6. This reminds me, I need to update my blogroll to add you and a few others!

    I have been finding a lot of great blogs lately, and many by clicking through these lists! 🙂 I will have to check yours out!

    Comment by kilax | December 16, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

