Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Green Monster Debut

As you know, I’ve been DREADING this whole green monster taste test. Everyone raves about them but the thought alone made me sick, specifically the spinach. Since I had all the ingredients and needed something that would carry me through my final, I decided that today was the day. I made my first video of the whole situation. Be warned, I have terrible video taping skills and I have a towel on my head.

I am off to school until about three so I will be MIA till then. Have a great Thursday!

December 17, 2009 - Posted by | Food, Green Monster

14 Comments »

  1. I told you it wasn’t bad!! I love that combo, except I usually freeze the banana (peel it first), that way it’s extra cold and frothy! My blender sucks so there are always pieces of the spinach left … oh well. Just do NOT try the kale. I love kale COOKED, but couldn’t even get through 2 gulps of a green monster with it!

    We’re both almost free from this semester!!! Yay!

    Comment by Olivia | December 17, 2009 | Reply

    • I don’t even like Kale cooked! Too much like a garnish. Congrats on three down-one to go!

      Comment by lpskins | December 17, 2009 | Reply

  2. I’m so proud of you πŸ™‚ I tried green monster with kale – I liked the taste of it, it was slightly sweeter than one with spinach but I hated the texture – it was making me gag 😦

    Comment by kas | December 17, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks!! Haha. You gave me some good tips about those suckers. No way will I try Kale. I’m surprised to hear that it was sweeter than spinach.

      Comment by lpskins | December 17, 2009 | Reply

  3. LINDS! what else are you putting in there? my district blocked your movie saying there are drugs in your video! hahahah

    Comment by jessdownes | December 17, 2009 | Reply

    • I’ll never tell.. (said in a high pitched creepy voice.)

      Comment by lpskins | December 17, 2009 | Reply

  4. That wasn’t bad at all for your first video. I really didn’t know what to expect after your first taste test but I guess it wasn’t all that bad. As for me give me some strawberry mini-wheats and I’m a happy camper….

    Comment by mom | December 17, 2009 | Reply

  5. Are you wearing makeup? If not.. I want your skin. Damn Cetaphil.. you look great!

    Comment by Marina | December 17, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Marina. No, I’m not wearing makeup. I usually don’t–mascara and maybe eyeliner/shadow when I attend parties.

      Comment by lpskins | December 17, 2009 | Reply

  6. Oh my, you had me cracking up when you took your first sip! Glad you liked the monster πŸ™‚ As for me, I have a confession- last night after I commented I dipped into the chocolate- gasp! Grr, I am mad that I did it, but I want to be honest here. Late nights are the worst for me. I am proud to say however, I did not let my slip-up derail me for too long. This morning I woke up and went to a KILLER kickboxing class and have eaten very healthfully all day. I am back on track for the rest of this challenge!

    Comment by Kelly (The Running Phoodie) | December 17, 2009 | Reply

    • Good job about getting back on track. Don’t feel bad, I’m eating a box of Junior mints as we speak. About to blog about it so youre the first to know. SO mad but cannot stop eating.

      Comment by lpskins | December 17, 2009 | Reply

  7. It’s so hard isn’t it? Don’t get too frustrated,I’m sure we’ll both still eat way less sugar over all this week, even if we’re not perfect 100% of the time. It sounds like you have a pretty packed week ahead of you. The challenge does end before Christmas though, and I personally think no one should deny themselves of a few special treats on Christmas!

    Comment by Kelly (The Running Phoodie) | December 17, 2009 | Reply

    • So I should get back on the horse tomorrow then?? I was thinking the same thing about less sugar overall dinner. Imagine if you had indulged at that chocolate party, then you would have never passed on that iced brownie. You’ve done great.

      Comment by lpskins | December 17, 2009 | Reply

  8. The first time I made a green monster I almost made myself sick because of the spinach that was still floating around lol. Then I read to steam the spinach first before putting it in the blender and that worked like a charm and i like it so much better!

    Comment by jessica | December 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

