Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

It’s been ages….

…since I last posted!! Sorry.  I just got back from dinner and I have some really bad news…. I ate chocolate cake and just finished off a box of Junior Mints. I failed my own challenge. This is what happened.

So we met all my co-workers at this restaurant called Shauba Zen for a going away party. I thought to myself, perfect, I’ll get sushi. Well it turns out that this place only serves certain things, all of which need to be dipped in boiling broth that sits in the middle of the table. I ordered the veggie delight with tofu, all of which was raw and had to be dunked. I’ve never seen a weirder array of vegetables- I couldn’t even identify anything but a one inch slice of corn on the cob. Let’s just say I was less than thrilled.  Then the cake came out. You can see from the picture how beautiful it was; I couldn’t resist. To be honest, I didn’t even try. I dug right in.

Then I went to CVS to pick out four million Christmas cards. I stood there crying in the aisle as I found the perfect ones. (I’m not even kidding.) Hallmark gets me every time. Since I had that cake, I knew I wanted more. I searched and searched for peppermint bark but had to settle with Junior Mints. I TRIED to get the small package in the front of the store, but they only sold the big guy. I swear. Soo…my challenge went to shit. If any of you are still going strong, keep it up. You are better women than me.

After my final (which I feel good about but not great) I ate couscous, soy nuggets and avocado. Couscous doesn’t do well when re-heated apparently because mine became crusty balls. Ew, I just got a visual of something beyond nasty. So… I’m scared that I just totally set myself up for a fat-fest tomorrow when babysitting. Any ideas on how to stay away from all the kid treats? This could  be a real disaster.

December 17, 2009 - Posted by | Fight the crack, Food, fun

19 Comments »

  1. While you’re reaching for kid treats while babysitting, think about cat puke. Cat puke is disgusting and nasty and that visual will make you want to hurl. Thus, resulting in not eating any treats that you do not want to eat. Your welcome.

    😉

    Seriously though, just remind yourself that you’re a strong woman and if you really, really want something, you can have it. And if not, you won’t. You’ve got the powaaaaa!

    Comment by Erin | December 17, 2009 | Reply

    • Hahhaa, who comes up with that? Very funny. Thanks for the second tip-it’s true. Why should this damn food have so much power. Thanks Erin.

      Comment by lpskins | December 17, 2009 | Reply

      • I totally understand how hard it is! And the visual was the grossest thing I could come up with at the time! Hope you’re doing well today!

        Comment by Erin | December 18, 2009 | Reply

        • Thanks Erin, you too!

          Comment by lpskins | December 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. Just make sure that tomorrow you remember that one night eating sugar does not ruin the whole challenge – you are still strong and powerful and can take charge of this challenge! 🙂

    Comment by Kristie Lynn | December 17, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Kristie… take charge, take charge.

      Comment by lpskins | December 18, 2009 | Reply

  3. That cake was gorgeous 😉 As for the babysitting thing- sometimes what works for me is promising myself a healthy treat if I avoid the bad ones. But it has to be something exciting- like I normally don’t like to shell out the money for a fancy salad at Saladworks, or a “pick two” at Panera, so if I know I have that to look forward to, it makes me want to not spoil my appetite beforehand.

    Comment by Kelly (The Running Phoodie) | December 17, 2009 | Reply

    • Maybe I’ll up the ante and buy myself clothing…

      Comment by lpskins | December 18, 2009 | Reply

  4. Awww– don’t feel bad about failing at the challenge. Cakes like that are not meant to be resisted 🙂

    Whenever I go somewhere where I know there will be tons of food, or if I’m cooking or baking something that I know I’ll want to munch on, I just chew on sugarfree gum until my jaw feels like it’s going to clamp shut. It’s a really attractive method of self-control 🙂

    Comment by Anna | December 17, 2009 | Reply

    • Note- Pick up costco sized pack of gum.

      Comment by lpskins | December 18, 2009 | Reply

  5. For the love of God sister, stop with all these ridiculous challenges. The more you limit yourself, the more you will stray (eventually). Listen to your inner food voice. Or sh*t, just do ww. You already know it works for you.

    Comment by Lisa paige | December 18, 2009 | Reply

    • I knew you were going to say that–it wasn’t the challenge that set me up to eat shit, it’s just what i do.

      Comment by lpskins | December 18, 2009 | Reply

  6. It’s not too late to cut back on the sweeets! This is just one setback. When you see all that kid junk, think about the better adult food you would rather be eating!

    Comment by kilax | December 18, 2009 | Reply

  7. Hello! I jus stumbled on your blog. I like it. I’ve also struggled with disordered eating (that is putting it lightly, ed and I were very close), so I can relate to this blog a lot. I agree with you, that cake looked gorgeous! So you shouldn’t deprive yourself of it. Don’t feel bad about it. Feel lucky that you got to eat such a delicious looking (and delicious tasting) cake. Maybe if we all allow ourselves to be fully present during moments of indulgnce we wouldn’t beat ourselves up about it so much. Hope you have an awesome day and weekend!

    Comment by Astrid | December 18, 2009 | Reply

    • Hey Astrid, thanks so much for commenting and helping me make sense of my treat addiction. You are totally right about being in the moment… I never am! NEver. Have a great weekend.

      Comment by lpskins | December 18, 2009 | Reply

  8. You picked a really hard time of year to give up sweets! So don’t beat yourself up too hard. Oh and I totally cry when I’m picking out cards too. It’s kind of ridiculous. haha

    Comment by Becky | December 18, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Becky. Crying is a good sign that we picked the perfect card. (but we must look like a couple of basket cases.)

      Comment by lpskins | December 18, 2009 | Reply

  9. i’m failing miserably with healthy eating too. i don’t know what is going on, but my power over food is nonexistent lately…

    i love ww too. i just have a hard time going to meetings past week 3. i don’t know what is wrong with me, it isn’t very hard to go to a meeting. i lost a lot of weight, 35 lbs, when i had evan with ww. too bad you didn’t live closer, we could go together.

    Comment by jenn graves | December 19, 2009 | Reply

    • No control whatsoever. I have the same problem past week three. for me its because I never follow program past week two so I’m too embarrassed to weigh in. I wish we lived closer too, everything works better on a buddy system.

      Comment by lpskins | December 19, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

