Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Moment to remember

Waking up this morning to tons of snow was somewhat nostalgic for me. This very weekend last year, my life changed. I can remember the inches kept falling on a Friday night into Saturday morning. I had plans to go see my friend Amanda, who lives on Long Island. The Honda I owned had terrible tires so driving in the snow was a nightmare. Len shoveled the driveway and assured me that the roads would be cleared and I would be just fine. I was off.

Forty-five minutes into the drive I started having some serious anxiety. The roads seemed too wet and icy for my comfort, and my windshield wipers were making things worse. I called both Amanda and Len to tell them I couldn’t handle the drive and was turning around. Len sounded surprised.  I arrived home just as Len did, but he was in a rental car.  (He didn’t own a car at the time.) I was confused about why he had rented a car without  mentioning it to me. After drilling him pretty hard he said, “Get in, we’re going somewhere.” Ummm, Okay. So we were off, only this time I had no clue where we were going. We headed back towards New York State so I questioned if he was bringing me to Amanda’s house. Four hours later we passed the exit for Long Island. Okay…. Where the hell are we going!!!??  I had started snowing again about one hour into our drive, making the whole situation more emotional.

He finally gave into my whining, “We’re going to the North Pole.”

“Have you lost your mind? The North Pole?” I said.

“I saw an ad in The Boston Globe about this town that totally dresses itself up as the North Pole. Since we’ve been so busy we haven’t been able to make it but when you cancelled your trip, I called and booked us a room. There were cancellations because of the weather so we got a room no problem.”

“Cool! We’re going to the North Pole.” I yelled.

This idea did not seem irrational to me because Len loves Christmas.  Three hours later (still snowing) we arrive at the North Pole, according to our GPS. There was not a single light in sight, the town was dark.  Boy was I pissed off. We pulled up to a random house where two men were outside playing with a snowmobiler. Len got out to ask them directions. He came back to the car and said, “We’re going in to use their internet.” Fumes were coming out of my ears. “Fine but you’re not having a beer” I replied. We walked in the house and the first thing I saw were two pens of puppies. “What are the chances?” I thought as I ran over to them without even acknowledging the 4 people who greeted us. Then one woman came over and said, “You’re a lucky girl Lindsay!”

In that moment I became the proud mama to sweet Eleanor. She was my Christmas surprise.

She was 7 pounds and so damn adorable.

December 20, 2009 - Posted by | Christmas, dogs, fun, The Boyfriend

25 Comments »

  1. This story is so amazing, i just read it aloud and had a tear! What a wonderful sentiment to share with us!!

    Comment by Marina | December 20, 2009 | Reply

    • Oh my gosh, thinking of you cry makes me want to cry. xo

      Comment by lpskins | December 20, 2009 | Reply

  2. awww! you are a lucky girl to have such a sweet guy! and happy one year anniversary with your little pup!

    Comment by jenn graves | December 20, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Jenn!

      Comment by lpskins | December 20, 2009 | Reply

  3. She is precious, as is this story! 🙂

    Comment by ginamastrog | December 20, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Miss. Gina. (I don’t know why I feel compelled to call you that!)

      Comment by lpskins | December 20, 2009 | Reply

  4. OMG….I’m crying (how dare you) what a GREAT story…you are a lucky girl Lindsay, don’t ever forget that!!! You are so deserving of all wonderful things in your life!

    Enjoy your Christmas!

    Salina =)

    Comment by Salina | December 20, 2009 | Reply

    • I know, I know. I cried too! Thanks Salina. How dare Len!

      Comment by lpskins | December 20, 2009 | Reply

  5. AWWWW you are sOOO lucky! where’s my puppy! =D

    Comment by traynharder23 | December 20, 2009 | Reply

    • You have to keep sending emails of dogs that need to be adopted. That’s what I did. (Ellie was from a breeder but you get the idea.)

      Comment by lpskins | December 20, 2009 | Reply

  6. Awwww! What a great doggie love story!!! That is an awesome surprise to be able to pull off!

    Gotta love Christmas miracle dogs 🙂

    Comment by Anna | December 20, 2009 | Reply

    • I thought of your doggie while I wrote this story. Dogs are the best gift ever!

      Comment by lpskins | December 20, 2009 | Reply

  7. this is a WONDERFUL story !!! you are lucky girl

    Comment by kas | December 20, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Katharina, I know I am lucky.

      Comment by lpskins | December 20, 2009 | Reply

  8. Aww! I love her baby pics! Hee hee. That was a pretty elaborate story he came up with!

    Comment by kilax | December 20, 2009 | Reply

    • He’s a lawyer, thats what he does. 🙂

      Comment by lpskins | December 20, 2009 | Reply

  9. totally just cried…and im not a crier 😉

    Comment by jessdownes | December 20, 2009 | Reply

    • Stop with the crying. I’m telling you, I cannot handle that!

      Comment by lpskins | December 20, 2009 | Reply

  10. You seriously have the cutest dog EVER 🙂 I’ve been wanting to get a French Bulldog for years, but am still puppy-less. And I think the name Eleanor is adorable, it suits her perfectly!

    Comment by Kelly (The Running Phoodie) | December 20, 2009 | Reply

    • You have to hint, hint, hint. To anyone that will listen. Or just get one! So worth it. (Make sure you have a credit card available to handle all the bills.) Other than that, you’re good to go!

      Comment by lpskins | December 20, 2009 | Reply

  11. Holy freakin’ crap, that dog is SO FREAKIN’ CUTE!! Oh I love her!! And Len is so sweet. Both are keepers 🙂

    Comment by Erin | December 20, 2009 | Reply

    • hahah, I’ll remember that when he’s bad. Thanks Erin.

      Comment by lpskins | December 20, 2009 | Reply

  12. That is an awesome story! I can’t believe he surprised you with her! My hubby got me our precious Gunny for my birthday 3 years ago, aren’t bulldogs the cutest puppies in the world? Makes me want another one so bad, I don’t think we will ever be without them. It’s like having a permanent puppy in the house. Ok, I’ll stop rambling, just found your blog, liking it and bookmarking!

    Comment by lindsayruns | December 21, 2009 | Reply

  13. […] past Monday marked the 2nd year of getting Eleanor Rat. I think she might need a new sweater for Christmas because the pink one bums her out.  I think she […]

    Pingback by spill it moms. « Goodies Galore | December 22, 2010 | Reply

  14. […] relationship with Len and really documented our journey together. It tells the tale of the day he surprised me with Eleanor, along with other anniversaries, and rat’s first and second birthday. It references us as a […]

    Pingback by Loss and renewal. « Goodies Galore | June 16, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

