Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Live from Vermont

This is the view from Lens brothers front yard. Pretty damn beautiful if you ask me. Len and I had another relaxing day visiting friends and family. I don’t have pictures of my eats today but they included a veggie sub, a carrot cake whoopee pie, peanut butter fudge, trail mix, chocolates, and cheese and crackers. Yep, healthy and balanced. I cannot wait to get home tomorrow and have the ability to cook up what I want and make my own food. I tried to pawn off all our take home sweets but Len put a stop to that pretty quickly. It’s currently ice storming so hopefully things get better for our ride home in the morning. I hope to get in some exercise but not if I’ll be slipping and sliding everywhere. No way, no how. Here are some random desserts from lens sister-in-law yesterday.

Look at this tray! I keep telling lens sister-in-law to open an online bakery. She could make bank.

She made this too. A mint chocolate cake. You better believe I had a slice of that sucker.

I am still trying to knit that scarf for Lens sister but I don’t think I’ll finish it by the morning. I started off with 15 stitches per row and somehow I am currently at 30 stitches per row. Hey, I never said I was a good knitter. I’ve been wearing this outfit below for two days now and tomorrow will make three. Vacations are meant for slugging out. Hope everyone had a great holiday weekend and for those of you back to the grind tomorrow, I’ll be thinking about you.

Wearing my new hoodie and one of my favorite scarfs. Scarfs rock my world.

December 27, 2009 - Posted by | Christmas, Food, Friends, fun, The Boyfriend

11 Comments »

  1. I totally hear you! I’m glad to be back in my own apartment, even though hanging out with my family was awesome, I just cannot look at another piece of pie and/or cookie. I’m pretty sure I gained 8 pounds in the past 3 days but it was worth it – much like that mint choco cake appears to be. That’s my favorite!

    I’ve knit approx. 2.3 scarves in my lifetime. It’s such a great mindless activity/stress reducer! Way to go on learning 🙂

    Comment by Erin | December 27, 2009 | Reply

    • I am finally back at my apartment and more than ready to settle in Mint choc cake was amazing! Wish I could have sent you some. I have faith that you’ll get right back to where you want to be-screw those extra pounds.

      Comment by lpskins | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. Aah Vermont! Say hello to it for me 🙂
    I’ve made a couple forays into knitting, and that always happens to me. I end up with waay too many stitches!

    Comment by ginamastrog | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. Oh my gosh, that cake looks amazing.

    I’m such a bad knitter. My scarves always end up looking like shapeless tarps. Whatever– it’s the joy of doing it. And keeping your hands occupied 🙂

    Comment by Anna | December 28, 2009 | Reply

    • Nothing wrong with shapeless tarps!

      Comment by lpskins | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  4. I love Vermont! I almost went to Middlebury College. The area is just so gorgeous. You look beautiful in your new scarf! And that cake looks just spectacular!

    Comment by Astrid | December 28, 2009 | Reply

    • Ah, I didn’t realize you went to school in Vt. Do you ever visit? Thanks, I love this scarf. Lens mom bought it for me. For some reason, she’s the only one who can pick out clothes/accessories that I actually like!

      Comment by lpskins | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  5. I love that pic of you! 🙂

    What a beautiful backyard! It looks perfect for snowshoeing!

    Comment by kilax | December 28, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Kim! And we forgot our snowshoes.

      Comment by lpskins | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  6. I, too, am a scarf-a-holic… Even if I’m in slob clothes at home (or PJ bottoms) I will still rock a scarf! I don’t know where they have been my whole life but now that I’ve found them I’m never going back! 🙂

    Comment by Kimberley | December 28, 2009 | Reply

    • Scarfs are soooo awesome. Love them always. Even in the spring.

      Comment by lpskins | December 28, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

