Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Yo.

Have you heard of the new swine flu party fad? What’s that all about?  Crazy. Anyway, Len and I finally arrived home-it was a slow, slow drive due to the snow. Luckily he doesn’t mind driving in it otherwise we’d be trapped at his mom’s house. Oy. I am too anxious to handle the snow. We left the house without eating breakfast and around 12 I noticed a bag of dark chocolate covered almonds and cranberries in the back seat. They were a gift that I somehow forgot about. So not like me. I snacked on a handful of those to hold me over till lunch. Then I threw the bag out in fear of eating the whole thing. I was praying that Len wouldn’t ask for more.

So. Damn. Good.

About an hour later we stopped at Subway where I got that tuna salad I wanted earlier. I’ve mentioned this before but I hardly ever eat fish because I think they are such a gross looking animal and I cannot help but think of the fish as a whole when I’m eating it. About half way through the salad, I felt like I was licking the walls of an aquarium because it tasted like salt water. Ew. I did eat most of the veggies though.

I was desperate to return my Patagonia jacket so after we got home and unpacked, we headed back out. I was torn between getting the original in a smaller  (mens) size or getting the womens brown jacket with no pocket. I kept trying one on after the other and ended up walking out with the original. Unfortunately I feel like a big fat marshmallow in it so I’m going back tomorrow for the brown one. Those jackets are not cheap so I want to absolutely love it.  After Patagonia, I went to Trader Joes where I spent 100 bucks on nothing. If I was anorexic I would be rich. I swear, all my money goes to food. I found awesome 45 calorie low carb whole wheat tortillas. I had two of those for dinner with refried beans, avocado, black olives and spinach. I also had three gummy bears and two of Lens Portobello mushroom raviolis (also from TJ’s.-so good.) I bought spinach, bananas and almond milk for tomorrows green monster. Boo yeah.

I am contemplating joining Weight Watchers tomorrow. I want to bribe myself somehow. Like, if I follow the program for two weeks, I can go buy myself new sneakers. Maybe after a month I can get a massage. Not sure where all this money would come from but we can deal with that later. All I know is that there’s a carrot cake whoopee pie in my cabinet and it just called my name.  Not sure how long I can fight it’s cat calls. We’ll see.

I swear there are tortillas under the bushes.

December 28, 2009 - Posted by | Christmas, Food

5 Comments »

  1. Yummmmmy whoopie pies!!!!

    Comment by Lisa paige | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. I joined Weight Watchers at the end of the summer. I didn’t want to lose a huge amount of weight, only ten pounds or so, but I lost interest in it very quickly. I just CANNOT follow a program that involves counting of any kind, whether it’s calories or points or whatever.

    That being said, I know a lot of people (my sister included) who have had great succes with WW. I think it totally just depends on your personality.

    I know what you mean– sometimes it feels like ALL my money goes towards food. I guess there are worse things you could spend your money on?

    Have a great night, lady!

    Comment by Anna | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. “If I was anorexic I would be rich. I swear, all my money goes to food.”

    I couldn’t have said it better myself! I’d rather go on a shopping spree at TJ’s or Whole Foods than go out on a Friday night. So sad isn’t it?!?

    Comment by Olivia | December 29, 2009 | Reply

  4. Yeah, carrot cake whoopie pie would be hard to resist. Hubby asked me to buy icecream (which I normally don’t stock in the house) and I have been the icecream monster ever since. I mean who can say no to the mini java chip starbucks icecream with the cute little spoon???

    Oh, and yes, Guns whines like a sighing baby when he doesn’t get his way. At least he throws the ball for himself when he’s bored. Haha I gotta make a video of that.

    Have a great day!

    Comment by lindsayruns | December 29, 2009 | Reply

  5. I know that everyone that is binger or overeater wishes that they were anorexic, so that they didnt overeat… but I really hated being Anorexic and I struggle with it on a daily basis, but I have finally come to a place where I eat normally, but that has taken half of my life to get to this place and I am only 20!!
    So, if I were you… I wouldnt start wishing to be Anorexic, it isnt worth it!!
    P.S. when I was anorexic, I spent more money on food because I would buy a ton of my diet foods and they were not cheap!! I would stock up on the food because I was worried that I would run out!! 😦

    Comment by learningtocookeatandenjoydeliciousfood | February 7, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

