Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

New Years

Len and I have been pretty laid back about making new years plans since we’ve been doing so much traveling and will continue to do so come January. Vermont was an option for a little while  but it really didn’t make sense considering we were just there and are going again the weekend of the 8th. We just decided to head North about an hour to our friends, Amy and Jacks house. We love going to their house because it is so relaxing. They have a fire going at all times, wine and beer on hand, great food and company. We just learned that a private chef will be going to their house (it was a gift from Amy to Jack) so I just picked out my fancy menu-

Hors d yummies
Pan seared Sea scallops with olive oil, shallots, lemon zest and finished with a caper cream

Entree

puree butternut squash and Yukon gold potatoes with roasted fresh
cranberries, cinnamon and toasted walnuts served over baked spaghetti
squash(seasonal)

Salad

Baby arugula with sliced Asian pears, cried currents, Danish blue cheese and toasted walnuts
finished with a drizzle of lemon vinaigrette

Dessert

Chocolate Molten Lava cakes with fresh seasonal red berries and fresh whipped cream

Looking good aye? So I don’t have pictures posted from the rest of my eats today because it was all garbage. I had a weight watchers ice cream bar, 2 Fiber One Pop Tarts (give me a break, a healthy pop tart), a Kashi granola bar, and some orange and cream bark. Yeah, not great. Anyways. I’m crawling in bed with a book so have a great night.

P.S. It appears that Punky Brewster changed my sheets today- my sheets, bed spread and 4 pillow cases are all different colors. All my good stuff is in the wash and I couldn’t seem to find any other sheets that matched. Oh well.

December 29, 2009 - Posted by | Food, Friends, fun, The Boyfriend

16 Comments »

  1. As much as I would love to sink my teeth into that menu, I wish you guys had come here for my turkey dinner 🙂
    But…I guess we’re getting a noreaster on NYE? Who knows…and I get to see your beautiful faces for Bifs party!!! YAYAYAYAYAYA!!!

    Comment by Katelyn | December 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. pop tarts came out with “low fat pop tarts”…equally as good, and i think 2 low fat ones are equalled to 1 regular one 😉

    Comment by jenn graves | December 29, 2009 | Reply

    • pop tarts have always rocked. But who buys the ones without frosting?

      Comment by lpskins | December 30, 2009 | Reply

  3. ps- new years dinner looks AWESOME!

    Comment by jenn graves | December 29, 2009 | Reply

  4. That menu sounds sooooo yummy!!! Enjoy and HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

    Comment by Salina | December 29, 2009 | Reply

    • Happy New Year to you Salina.

      Comment by lpskins | December 30, 2009 | Reply

  5. Sounds like a great menu!

    Comment by Anna | December 29, 2009 | Reply

    • too good to be true!

      Comment by lpskins | December 30, 2009 | Reply

  6. Ugh, so jealous of your classy New Year’s plan. Ours continue to get sketchier and sketchier haha

    Comment by ginamastrog | December 29, 2009 | Reply

    • When I was 20 my plans were pretty sketchy too. I’m approaching 30 now so thankfully they’ve calmed down.

      Comment by lpskins | December 30, 2009 | Reply

  7. OOooo this salad sounds divine!!! Where are you when I need you??

    Oh girl you need to write out goals. What do you want to accomplish this year?? There must be lots of things 😉

    XXOO

    Comment by Kris | iheartwellness.com | December 30, 2009 | Reply

    • I know, I know. I want to accomplish too much I think.

      Comment by lpskins | December 30, 2009 | Reply

  8. Reading your blog every morning makes my day! Menu sounds awesome can’t wait to see it!

    Comment by Kelli | December 30, 2009 | Reply

    • Thank so much Kelli! You are so sweet.

      Comment by lpskins | December 30, 2009 | Reply

  9. You had me at pan seared scallops. That sounds amazinggggg. What a good gift for someone! Have an excellent time!

    I started weight watchers over the summer but didn’t commit to it and then dropped it because I didn’t want to spend the money. I’d rather do it “my way” (total authority issues here). My friend did have a lot of success with the online tools, having access to recipes, etc, though, but that might not make as much sense for you if you really like going to the actual meetings (which you don’t with the online tools). Just my two cents!

    Comment by Erin | December 30, 2009 | Reply

    • yeah the online ones are alot cheaper. Im glad I didn’t sign up because I didn’t make it past day 1. sea scallops look intense.

      Comment by lpskins | December 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

