Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Save a buck or two.

I decided that I do not get to join weight watchers until I follow it first. I am not going to waste another 40 dollars on a program that I don’t typically follow. I’ve done it enough to know the different points for things, etc so I don’t necessarily even need to join. With that said, I do love the meetings when I’m actually following. There are definitely annoying people at most groups but a good leader makes all the difference.

I opted for oat bran with 1 tbsp each of pumpkin butter and peanut butter. I’m thankful that the pumpkin butter is seasonal so I’m unable to keep dipping my dirty mitts in there. I added some half and half in my coffee so it’s a total of 6 points. That’s pretty high for a breakfast but if I actually eat when I’m hungry I should be okay.

The new year is just around the corner and I am still undecided about my goals. I don’t make new year resolutions because they never mean anything to me but I do want to set some goals. I think it’s pretty cool to be able to look back when the year is over to see how far you’ve come (or not come.) I’ve never actually laid out goals before so we’ll see how they come out. It’s important to be realistic and I need to remind myself that small goals are okay too.

I’m going to the gym at some point…. just want to procrastinate a little longer.

December 29, 2009 - Posted by | Food

11 Comments »

  1. I had the same issures, whenI did WW years ago. It works,but I was wasting money by not following it through. I’m writing my goals out on my blog ths year. That way the bloger community will keep me accountable!

    Comment by Nicci@NiftyEats | December 29, 2009 | Reply

    • It definitely does work so long as I stay on track. One time I lost 10 pounds in a month and then quit. What a donkey.

      Comment by lpskins | December 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. I once read this really good article on how to write realistic goals – it wasn’t this article, but the SMART acronym was what I can remember from it. http://www.goal-setting-guide.com/smart-goals.html

    Comment by Kristie | December 29, 2009 | Reply

  3. I like your idea of goals and not resolutions. At first I thought they were pretty much the same thing, but I’ve decided they’re not … at all. I need to make my list asap. Half & half in coffee is totally a necessity. I never use sweetener, but need my cream!

    Comment by Olivia | December 29, 2009 | Reply

    • I used to drink it black. What happened to those days?

      Comment by lpskins | December 29, 2009 | Reply

  4. I’ve been thinking about my New Year’s goals too (I refuse to call them resolutions as well 🙂 ). That was a big part of the problem with WW for me too– why pay money for a program if you aren’t going to follow it?

    Have a great day!

    Comment by Anna | December 29, 2009 | Reply

    • Goals just sound less temporary and more realistic.

      Comment by lpskins | December 29, 2009 | Reply

  5. have you ever thought of joining ww online? i never have, but my friend did not feel comfortable going to the meetings, so she joined online…they have online chat, blogs, recipes, and she said that she met really cool people through it. i like the idea of it because it is 24 hours and you don’t have to commit to tuesdays at 7pm.

    Comment by jenn graves | December 29, 2009 | Reply

    • I have done online before and like it but I also love the meetings. Its obviously more convenient. Do you like your meetings?

      Comment by lpskins | December 29, 2009 | Reply

      • it really depends on the people at the meetings…i’ve been to great and terrible meetings because of the people. there aren’t a whole lot of ww close to me, so i get hesitant to go and spend the money, dreading what types of people will be there.

        i’m with you though…i’m not signing up for anything until i can follow it at home for a month. otherwise, it will be a waste.

        Comment by jenn graves | December 29, 2009 | Reply

  6. I haven’t gone to the gym since Turkey day and I just cxld my ww account because, like everyone else, I’m just not using it! I have made a plan to start going back to the gym…starting tomorrow! and, just not eat as much! We’ll see how it goes! HAPPY NEW YEAR!

    Comment by Katelyn | December 29, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

