Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Long time no talk

It feels weird to just now be blogging but I really didn’t have the time today. I made over night oats for breakfast today but never got around to eating them.  I’ll have to eat them tomorrow so they’ll be double night oats. I wonder what they’ll taste like. For lunch I had a salad with baked tofu and cottage cheese. It was okay, not great. I’m used to more exciting foods so a plain salad is pretty boring.

I dipped in the bins today for a snack and chose fig newtons. I love those buttery little bastards. So good. Upon arriving home, I dipped my hand in my own bins and picked up a handful (plus some) of orange and cream bark. After I was satisfied I threw the whole container in the trash. I need to get rid of all the crap I have in my house. Believe it or not, the carrot cake whoopee pie is still in my cabinet untouched. I am refraining from eating it and Len hasn’t touched it either. Hopefully he digs in soon.

Dinner was spaghetti squash with  vegetable jambalaya and green olives. For Christmas we got a knife set and let me tell you, cutting squash took on a new meaning tonight. I also had a slice of Ezekiel bread with almond butter and pumpkin butter. This stuff is addicting.

I seriously cannot believe that we are one day away from 2010. I can remember entering the new millennium. It was SUCH a big deal. I actually spent it in Boston, long before I ever dreamed of living here. Tomorrow night at 12 we’ll be toasting to a new year. CRAZY! Believe it or not, I am still struggling to create my goals. I have a million things I want to do better but I’m trying to phrase things in a positive light and figure out ways to get there. Side note- I’m watching Access Hollywood crying my eyes out as they say goodbye to one of their hosts. Get a grip.

I WILL go to the gym in the morning. I MUST!

December 30, 2009 - Posted by | Food, fun

7 Comments »

  1. Props to you for throwing out that bark! I love fig newtons too…they’re oddly a comfort food for me?

    Comment by Anna | December 30, 2009 | Reply

  2. well that sounds familiar! I’ve thrown so much candy in the trash lately, but that’s apparently everything that keeps me from bingeing. Now that my pantry and fridge are completely empty, all I have to do is avoid public food places or simply leave the house without any money or credit card. It’s gonna be a walk in the park.
    Anyways, you’re a great inspiration to me and funny as heck. I hope you have a good start into the new decade (omg!) and don’t put too much pressure on yourself with the resolutions. You’re pretty amazing! Byeees 😀

    Comment by Marie | December 30, 2009 | Reply

    • hahaaa, love that comment. I have to be home bound with an empty kitchen too in order not the binge. Thanks Marie. Cheers to ripping up the debit cards!

      Comment by lpskins | January 8, 2010 | Reply

  3. Gym? I’ll go if you go! Deal? 🙂 I need to find and try some of that ezek bread, I bet I’d like it, especially with that almond pumpkin combo on it.

    Comment by lindsayruns | December 30, 2009 | Reply

    • Hey Linds , I didn’t go. Did you? they carry the bread at Shaws and Trader Joes. Probably other places too.

      Comment by lpskins | December 31, 2009 | Reply

  4. going to the gym is sometimes hard for me with the kids, i wish i had a double jogging stroller, i only have a single one…

    i bought “the biggest loser” cardio workout dvd today…and was soooo embarrassed at the register. i did it tonight, i like that it really gives you the choice to work out at your own pace, and it has different workouts for different ability levels. it’s only 20 minutes, but i figure on the days i can’t make it to the gym, i can do it. perhaps even in the morning and at night…but who’s kidding, that will most likely not happen.

    Comment by jenn graves | December 31, 2009 | Reply

    • Sorry you were embarrassed. You should have been proud. Believe me, 100s of people have walked out with that DVD.Great job Jenn.

      Comment by lpskins | December 31, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

