Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Laziest weekend ever!

Holla! (Yeah, I’m ghetto.) So… Len came up with the brilliant idea of making crock pot vegetarian chili (though he suggested turkey.) I just prepped it all for a wonderful and healthy dinner. He went to the grocery store and came back with an amazing loaf of honey wheat rustic bread. I’m more excited for that than the actual chili. Here are all the ingredients: Two cans of diced tomatoes, different color peppers, 2 sliced portabella mushrooms,yellow squash, one can organic kidney beans, bag of soy crumbles, olives, corn (frozen so will go in last), cayenne, black pepper, chili powder.  Hopefully it tastes as good as it sounds. I tried to sneak in some edamame but Len gave that the big N-O.

I spent most of the morning on the internet–I can get sucked in for HOURS on end. Suddenly it was 12 and the anxiety set in about being so lazy. I geared up for the gym where I spent about 50 minutes on the treadmill walking on an incline. I flipped back and forth between two shows, both of which I had never seen. Jersey Shore–what a terrible show. At first I though I was watching a trashy version of Real World and got nervous about having to give it up. I also watched Chef Academy which is much, much better. In this episode, the contestants had to make different breads. One chick made brie, fig and chocolate bread. Only a woman would know to make something so orgasmic. Thank GOD I haven’t discovered that it real life. Danger! The show inspired me to start exploring the kitchen so I might have to step up. Kim spoke about testing out one new recipe per week. I certainly am not committing to that but I’d really like to make my meals more exciting and diverse. I bought powdered curry months ago and have no clue what to do with it. Any suggestions?

Here are my eats for the day: Breakfast was two cups of coffee with almond milk, and two slices of Ezekiel bread. One piece had a tablespoon of almond butter and the other had jalapeno and cilantro hummus. Hello, new flavor! It was so tasty that I included some cherry tomatoes in the mix to dip in a second tablespoon of hummus. For lunch I ate an apple with Justin’s honey peanut butter packet. Len discovered it while cleaning out the cabinets yesterday. Score!

I’m feeling very grateful today for my blog and this wonderful blog community.

Trader Joes people.

January 3, 2010 - Posted by | Food, The Boyfriend

8 Comments »

  1. mix up some veggies…zuc, mush, cauliflower, onion go well together…in a pan with chickpeas, a can of lite coconut milk and some curry powder. Serve w brown rice…yum yum yum

    Comment by Ali | January 3, 2010 | Reply

    • Yum, yum, yum is right. i have lite coconut milk too! How much curry?

      Comment by lpskins | January 3, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hey, I bought that pb with you when we went to Whole Foods. Remember?? We knocked over all the chocolate display? Ahh, silly sisters.

    Comment by Lisa Paige | January 3, 2010 | Reply

  3. I remember! GOod times!

    Comment by lpskins | January 3, 2010 | Reply

  4. Ahh, love my coffee with almond milk. Sounds like you had some yummy times and some yummy eats today, missy.

    Comment by ginamastrog | January 3, 2010 | Reply

  5. Brie, chocolate, fig break? Are you kidding me? Y.U.M.

    I made something with curry powder just today! I like to cook up a big pot of lentils and add a bunch of curry, cumin, cardammom, and cinnamon, plus onions and stewed tomatoes, and serve it all over brown rice. Kind of like a dal, I guess?

    Comment by Anna | January 3, 2010 | Reply

  6. You’d need some more spices, but you should try the chana masala off of orangette. http://orangette.blogspot.com/2006/02/public-display-of-chickpeas.html I’m making it this week.

    Comment by lindsayruns | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  7. Ha, I have never seen Jersey Shore but heard SO MANY bad reviews of it!

    Thanks for the link! I recommend trying some new veggies/ingredients, or spices! I don’t know about powdered curry though. Darn!

    I think you are off to a good start with the chili 🙂

    Comment by kilax | January 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment