Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Pardon my french

Good morning! Boy did 5:30 come fast. Luckily the weather man was wrong (shocker) and we happily ran in 28 degrees, versus the forecasted 16 degrees.  Erin and I walked/ran our five-mile loop which was just what the doctor ordered. Since I ate  my weight in mini wheats yesterday  I was a little nervous about the consequences; everything worked out just fine. As I was about to jump in the shower, it occurred to me that WMM had to happen. There I planked, naked in my living room. It was quite the scene. Eleanor was a little too curious about the situation (if ya know what I mean) so she had to get locked in her kennel.

In the shower I started singing an old gospel song I learned at camp forever ago. That’s right, I spent three summers at a sleep away religious camp when I was in grade school. I LOOOVEEED it. Looking back it was a total cult–we had to attend church three times per day, then go home and read from the bible. I was “saved” as I marched around a bonfire, and had to sign something saying I wouldn’t have sex till marriage. Opps, I fucked that one up. (No pun intended.) The best part about camp is that we sang and sang; I still remember the lyrics and the hand gestures that go along with them. In college that was my late night specialty. I’d bust out a little gospel song and dance as people were taking bong hits and wrestling on the dirty kitchen floor. Ohhh, good times.

So the day to come is pretty relaxed: babysit for two hours then hit up the mall for some returns. Not bad at all. No breakfast has entered my belly yet but I shall post pictures later.

January 5, 2010 - Posted by | fun, Workout

13 Comments »

  1. Haha I know what you mean, I was the queen of sleep away camp when I was a kid, and sometimes I definitely find myself singing some of the songs that we learned there. We are having the same ridonkulously cold weather here too – I feel your pain!

    Comment by ginamastrog | January 5, 2010 | Reply

    • When I’m a parent, my kids are totally getting shoved off to camp.

      Comment by lpskins | January 5, 2010 | Reply

  2. How much do you bundle up for a run when it’s so cold?! I need to start running outside and have NO idea what to wear!

    Comment by Olivia | January 5, 2010 | Reply

    • Hey girlfriend!! You aren’t going to be in Yardley anytime in Feb are you? My sis and I want to plan a blogger meet up!
      So, I wore a tight pair of running pants (like spandex tight), another looser pair of workout pants, a tank top, long sleeve, light fleece and a hat. I was perfect!

      Comment by lpskins | January 5, 2010 | Reply

      • Sadly, no 😦 Damnit! I’ll be home in April though for 3 weeks and then for good in August!!

        And good job getting up at freaking 5:30!! Seriously! I set my alarm for 5:45 and didn’t get out of bed until 8. Yeah, absolutely pathetic. I’m usually pretty good about working out in the a.m., but am still adjusting to my schedule!

        Comment by Olivia | January 5, 2010 | Reply

  3. omg I don’t know how you get up that early to workout! I wish I could. I set my alarm but it just doesn’t happen lol. It would be so much more convenient for me if I could though. ugh.

    Do you feel a big difference in your energy levels when you workout in the morning?

    Comment by jlbolf80 | January 5, 2010 | Reply

    • Well you also have a kid so that makes it harder. I LOVE working out in the am. And yes, it gives me energy both mentally and physically.

      Comment by lpskins | January 5, 2010 | Reply

  4. I am slowly getting myself back to early…my “normal” is 4:45. Haha this morning I did yoga on the living room rug, the dogs always try to get in my business. I have to stop and yell at them to get on the couch and stay there…very zen behavior, definitely.

    Comment by lindsayruns | January 5, 2010 | Reply

    • 4:45??? damn dude!

      Comment by lpskins | January 5, 2010 | Reply

  5. hahaha. I LOVE the naked plank. I always have to laugh at myself when I’m about to jump in the shower and forget to do something (i.e. naked plank, naked unloading dishwasher, naked coffee brewing) 🙂

    Comment by quarterlifewellness | January 5, 2010 | Reply

    • hahaaha about the naked coffee making! Noodle’s prob like whattt?

      Comment by lpskins | January 5, 2010 | Reply

  6. dude you are redic. and hilarious, and evrything in between. rock on.

    Comment by jessdownes | January 6, 2010 | Reply

    • So are you lady

      Comment by lpskins | January 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

