Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Morning of wonderfulness

It sure is hard to break the dessert after dinner rule. I need to start keeping healthy options around the house that are more exciting than fruit. Last night Len headed to our neighborhood grocer to pick up dessert. “Don’t get me anything” I said. He came back with two options. Yogurt with granola or a cinnamon bun. Guess which one I chose? The bun. I had half–the extra frosted half of course. Look how wonderful it looks!

Luckily I woke up early for a run with Erin. We only did about three miles but it was 26 degrees and pretty chilly, certainly  not the worst temps but I was happy to cut it short. After the run my stomach was actually growling with hunger. I LOVE that because I usually eat so much the night before to keep me full the next morning. I also got to play with a 3.5 month old bulldog named Charlotte. I swear, if I had to choose between playing with a puppy or eating my most favorite desserts– the pup would win. Now that’s love. Toast with almond butter and sliced banana was on the agenda for breakfast. I also had my first cup of glazed chocolate coffee. I don’t exactly taste the chocolate but it’s still good.

I swear there's almond butter under all those bananas.

January 7, 2010 - Posted by | dogs, Food, Friends, running

14 Comments »

  1. I would choose pup over dessert as well 🙂 They should create a diet based on that concept!

    Comment by Anna | January 7, 2010 | Reply

    • I agree. I was thinking maybe I should work at a pound or something so I could be busy with dogs. But then I’d eat out of depression and sadness for those who couldn’t be rescued.

      Comment by lpskins | January 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. i would choose a puppy with dessert. http://nowthatsnifty.blogspot.com/2009/10/dog-food-taco.html hahaha I saw this funny pic on twitter the other day!

    That cinnamon roll looks sooo good!

    Comment by quarterlifewellness | January 7, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh my gosh that is SOOO cute!

      Comment by lpskins | January 8, 2010 | Reply

  3. that bun looks siiiiiiick

    Comment by Anonymous | January 7, 2010 | Reply

    • It was!!! Kiki’s in Brighton.

      Comment by lpskins | January 8, 2010 | Reply

  4. Best breakfast ever. I finally had almond butter over break (TJ brand), the brands they sell here are SO expensive! Like $8.99 a jar! It’s insane, I just don’t know if I can bring myself to spend that much! I miss it though 😦

    I’m not a huge dessert person, but if I have sweets around I will eat them. I’ll usually have a piece of dark chocolate and a date…it usually takes care of any sweet craving!

    Comment by Olivia | January 7, 2010 | Reply

    • that must taste amazing. Dates + chocolate is amazing.

      Comment by lpskins | January 8, 2010 | Reply

  5. that looks evil…in the good way 🙂 I’d choose a puppy too (a little obsessed? i think so!)

    Comment by Heather @ The Joyful Kitchen | January 7, 2010 | Reply

  6. That bun looks awesome. And congrats to you for running this morning. I am not a run…wish i could be…

    Comment by Jacqui | January 7, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks JAcqui! You can do it.

      Comment by lpskins | January 8, 2010 | Reply

  7. Over the holidays I became to expect a dessert after dinner, but now that I am not doing it, it is starting to feel okay 🙂

    I am rarely hungry after running anymore. It’s SO weird!

    Comment by kilax | January 7, 2010 | Reply

    • Thats awesome Kim!!! I wish I could say the same!

      Comment by lpskins | January 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

