Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Playing Catch Up

BFF's since 2nd grade. NKOTB brought us together. Team Joey!

My mother really needs to get with the times and get the internet. It feels SO weird being without access for so long but that’s why God made Starbucks, right? I just met up with an old and dear friend of mine for coffee talk. Ash and I have some very funny memories from back in the day and although we don’t see each other nearly enough, we can always start back from where we left off. She had to catch a flight so now I’m taking advantage of the internet connection. This post is basically going to play catch up on all the wonderful food I’ve enjoyed since Friday.  (Sorry the pics are all scattered.)

The rest of the weekend includes lunch at our favorite dinner. My sister, myself and my brother all worked there at some point in high school. I can’t believe we’re allowed back. Then shopping is in our future and possibly the movies tonight. I still haven’t seen The Blind Side or Precious.

Tomorrow I am meeting my pops for lunch then back up to Boston for dinner with the bf. I really need another hobby besides eating. Also, I am still struggling with whether to run the half or full marathon in Nashville. At this point it’s only three months away so if there’s any chance of doing the full, we should be running like NOW. Len is thinking it over again until tomorrow. Is it unrealistic to train for a full in three months? We trained for five months for our last marathon.  Thoughts?

Vegetarian Pad Thai. HEAVEN!!!!!!

Birthday cupcakes- I had chocolate (obviously)

Salad for brunch with feta, olives, and hummus

Post party Sunday morning. Everything bagel with lite veg cream cheese and tomato. Bagels = Orgasm. Don't deny it.

Last night a bunch of us took my mom out for her 60th. We went to an Italian joint called Guilford Bistro. It used to be an old donut shop and I can remember sitting at the counter with my dad getting a jelly donut. Maybe he’s to blame for my donut addiction?? Anyway, now it’s this charming restaurant with fire places and delish eats. I wasn’t in the mood for pasta and felt a total need for scallops. Scallops are the only seafood I can eat in peace– meaning, I don’t know what they looked like when they were alive so I can eat them without my mind going to that place. I ordered a salad to start and an appetizer for my entrée (go me!)– mozzarella, avocado, tomato and scallops topped with balsamic reduction. I also ate two pieces of bread with olive oil. Thanks for coming Kath!! xox

No wine for me.

Soooo good.

I ate all but two scallops

Mar enjoying her bday dessert.

January 18, 2010 - Posted by | Family, Food, Friends, fun, Marathon Training, running, The Boyfriend

8 Comments »

  1. Thoughts on your race:

    1. The marathon course is an out and back, pretty much. I have wanted to do it forEVER and that deterred me.

    2. The half is my favorite distance. I am biased.

    3. I have been seriously considering that half [rock n roll, right?] so that is my vote.

    4. Marathon training = grueling 20 milers that take up your weekends.

    Of course I am also biased because having finished my mary in December I have sworn them off for all of 2010. NO CRAZY THOUGHTS NEED TO GET STARTED! I am just now recovering from my killer tendonitis. But look out 2011. I will run another then.

    Did this comment make sense?

    Comment by Whit | January 18, 2010 | Reply

  2. i love the salad…olives are my FAVORITE!!!

    as for the marathon vs a half, i’d totally do the half for the time frame you’re looking at. it will be a LOT less hard on your body, and if you really enjoy it then at that point maybe you could sign up for a full marathon 🙂

    Comment by Heather @ The Joyful Kitchen | January 18, 2010 | Reply

  3. I would vote for the half – but, I’d say the deciding factor would be how much you’ve been running recently. If you have to up your mileage pretty significantly in the next couple of weeks I’d say there is too much injury risk.

    Comment by Kristie | January 18, 2010 | Reply

  4. I say you go for the half, you have time to train for that and you don’t have to stress over it….plus you get to do it with your sister =) Enjoy the race and the time with your family =)

    p.s. HAPPY (EARLY) BIRTHDAY!!!

    Comment by Salina | January 18, 2010 | Reply

  5. Hmmmm…I would go for the half…but that’s because I’m lazy!!! 🙂

    Seriously though, just listen to what YOU want– you know what’s best for you, and the level of committment you feel comfortable with!

    Comment by Anna | January 18, 2010 | Reply

  6. go with the half, even though the full is tempting I say give yourself a little more training time, your runs will start feeling like a chore trying to train for a full and not something fun, which all of this should be fun!

    Realistically you can def. train for it in 3 months, but I say do the half and signed up for a full at a later time…one step at a time getting back into the swing of things!

    Either way good luck Lindsay!

    Comment by Lori | January 18, 2010 | Reply

  7. Those scallops look awesome!

    Comment by Jacqui | January 19, 2010 | Reply

  8. i used to LOVE donut village!!

    Comment by jenn graves | January 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

