Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

B-day Wrap Up

Yesterday turned out so great thanks to my boyfriend, family and friends. Before leaving CT, I met my dad for lunch and ordered a salad with dried cherries, shrimp, pine nuts and goat cheese. Talk about YUM. The drive home went fast though it was mostly rain and snow. I am SOO tired of traveling and am happy to be staying put in Boston for the next three weeks.

Shrimp tails freak me out! I had to hide them under the plate.

My dad rocks.

My boyfriend surprised me by working from home so he was around when Ellie and I walked in from Connecticut. I hadn’t seen him since Friday so it meant a lot to not have to wait any longer. We went to Basha in Cambridge for dinner because we had a gift card there. The whole place was empty so we were a little bit weary. Well, I can’t say I’d go there again but you can’t really complain about a free dinner. For an appetizer, Len and I split pita and hummus. I then plowed into the “vegetarian platter” which included vegetarian grape leaves, hockey pucks falafel, tabouli, and a salad.

The best surprise happened at dinner. Len wrote the sweetest card ever and if I could post his words without being killed I would. Inside the card was a copy of our hotel reservations and plane tickets for Nashville. He payed for our whole trip for the half/full marathon. I couldn’t believe it. I feel so blessed. Thanks babe!

After dinner we hit up our local Greek dessert place, Athens. We only go on special occasions such as Valentines day, birthdays, etc because everything must be 1,00 calories or more. This place is RIDICK!!! They serve gelato, tons of cookies, crazy cakes and a huge variety of pastries. I stood in front of the dessert cases for way too long feeling overwhelmed and undecided. Bless my boyfriend who suggested getting them all! I finally rattled off something that  tasted like Nutella and  damn was it amazing. I’m moving into Athens and will eat my face off, all day long, forever. No one will stop me.

January 20, 2010 - Posted by | Family, Food, Friends, The Boyfriend, Uncategorized

17 Comments »

  1. Gross fact about me– I have been known (in my animal-eating days) to eat shrimp tails. Pretty bad, right?

    Looks like a great celebration! Love that pic of you dad 🙂 And that dessert looks nothing short of amazing.

    Comment by Anna | January 20, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh my gosh, really???? That is bad!! (just saying)

      Comment by lpskins | January 20, 2010 | Reply

  2. So glad you had a great day of Birthday Festivities!! All the eats look delish, especially that tabouli! And the desserts. Mmmmmm. You deserve every bit of that Nutella-y goodness.

    I wish I had a fab local homemade dessert place around me here in MI (although it’s probably better there isn’t.) I can’t find a good dessert anywhere! So sad.

    Comment by Olivia | January 20, 2010 | Reply

    • Trust me, its better that you dont!

      Comment by lpskins | January 20, 2010 | Reply

  3. Happy Belated Birthday! Your boyfriend sounds really sweet. That Salad looks delicious did it have any type of dressing on it, I am going to try to recreate it at home?

    Comment by Erin | January 20, 2010 | Reply

    • It was a honey mustard that I put on the side. Thanks, he is so sweet.

      Comment by lpskins | January 20, 2010 | Reply

  4. what a great dinner! the nutella dessert thing sounds amazing…i’d be inspired to move into athens too 🙂

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | January 20, 2010 | Reply

    • Bless the person who wouldnt want to move it.

      Comment by lpskins | January 20, 2010 | Reply

  5. Your salad looks like my dream come true; I’m so glad he surprised you, that’s the best; no judging on moving into the resturant, that’s a great idea! Happy Birthday again!

    Comment by lindsayruns | January 20, 2010 | Reply

    • You and hubs can move in too!

      Comment by lpskins | January 20, 2010 | Reply

  6. Lins- I am VERY happy for you. Great birthday! Rock on… go Len- great gift! Nice to know you rock someone’s world, no?!

    Comment by jessdownes | January 20, 2010 | Reply

    • Its always nice to be reassured!!

      Comment by lpskins | January 20, 2010 | Reply

  7. You must bring those to girls weekend in March!!! The desserts that is! HOLY YUM!

    Comment by Katelyn | January 20, 2010 | Reply

    • No way, I’ll eat em all in the car.

      Comment by lpskins | January 20, 2010 | Reply

  8. your bf is SOO CUTE! hhahah. surprises are the best. except when it’s not a fun surprise (like getting scared shitless.)

    i HATE not knowing what to pick at a bakery case with a display like that ! it’s lik ei have to rent an apartment nearby for a month so i can officially taste everything they have to offer.

    Comment by traynharder23 | January 20, 2010 | Reply

    • Hahah, did someone once scare you shitless?

      Comment by lpskins | January 20, 2010 | Reply

  9. Hockey pucks, lol.

    Happy belated birthday! The Nashville trip is a great present!

    Comment by kilax | January 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

