Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Veg Desperation

My fridge is pretty empty and there are no fresh vegetables to be found but I was feeling desperate to eat them. My body was actually craving them so after searching my freezer I came up with this…

A huge plate of corn, edamame and broccoli. The broccoli was actually one of those Green Giant single servings in cheese so I blended that all together. Despite the chemical cheese, it still needed some flavor so I added some beloved ketchup to the mix. “ketchup is full of sugar Lindsay. You shouldn’t eat it. ” Thats what my dad would always tell me and I can’t help but hear his voice in my ear every time I reach for the ketchup bottle.Ketchup does have a lot of sugar in it and ya know what? That’s exactly why I love it so much. It tastes like freaking heaven in a handbag. Back in the day, I would eat ketchup sandwiches with just bread and ketchup. Don’t you dare me to start eating them again because I will. Oh yes, I will.

My old work called and asked me to cover some hours over the next three weeks which I’m super stoked about. My goal is to get in 8 hours per week which will happen mostly on the weekends. This opportunity couldn’t have come at a better time since we have two small vacations coming up (Maine and Nashville) requiring money that I don’t have.Β No big plans for the weekend besides work and dinner with two of my lovely girlfriends tomorrow. You’ve seen them on the blog before. Can’t wait to catch up with them. Isn’t it crazy how much time can pass between visits? Hate that.

Today when I was zoning out in class I made my bucket list. It includes: a service trip to a third world country, learning to speak another language, learning how to play guitar, have babies, travel Africa. I feel in a rush to make the service trip happen. I applied to the Peace Corps in 04 Β and only got accepted into positions that weren’t of interest to me. I applied to other organizations but have never followed through. I regret that. What’s on your list?

January 22, 2010 - Posted by | blog, Food, Friends, fun

13 Comments »

  1. ketchup sandwiches?! reminds me of my bagel sandwiches with mustard. yes mustard is NOW a sandwich FILLING.

    =D

    yay for hours!

    hmmmmmmmmmmmm. on my list: run a marathon, run an ultra marathon, go to japan again, live on the beach, go to a crossfit cert.

    Comment by traynharder23 | January 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. I have no idea what’s on mine – I should make my own list. Ketchup is quite delicious… and it doesn’t help that it tastes good with practically anything!

    Comment by Kristie | January 22, 2010 | Reply

  3. just ketchup sandwiches? you’re crazy! πŸ˜€ It’s simply a fry and chicken dipper to me.

    I’ve got a couple friends in Armenia right now doing the Peace Corps thing, it’s really interesting following their experiences.

    Comment by lindsayruns | January 22, 2010 | Reply

  4. My bucket list would include running an ultra marathon and adopting a pet.

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | January 22, 2010 | Reply

  5. my bucket list includes backpacking through Europe, having babies, and living by the ocean πŸ™‚

    Comment by Heather | January 22, 2010 | Reply

  6. lol– ketchup sandwiches? Even I don’t like ketchup THAT much! πŸ™‚

    Comment by Anna | January 22, 2010 | Reply

  7. I. love. ketchup. period.
    Your bucket list sounds phenom, I have no doubt you will follow through on everything – and add even more! Went out to dinner on Church Street tonight and thought of you, I have to go to Magnolia soon!

    Comment by ginamastrog | January 22, 2010 | Reply

  8. I totally want to re-learn Spanish! I was pretty good when I graduated high school πŸ™‚

    Yay for work at your old job! πŸ™‚

    Comment by kilax | January 22, 2010 | Reply

  9. Hello? Ketchup is just about the best foodie invention…EVER. I used to dip chocolate chip cookies into ketchup. I would finish a economical-sized ketchup within a couple of weeks. I was the Ketchup Queen!

    Congrats on your extra financial opportunity!

    Comment by sophia | January 22, 2010 | Reply

  10. man…bucket list….Go to Greece (for more than a week), have babies, open up a bakery, finish college

    Comment by Katelyn | January 23, 2010 | Reply

    • I didn’t know you wanted to open a bakery?? I’ll be your taste tester πŸ™‚

      Comment by lpskins | January 23, 2010 | Reply

  11. oh and live on the beach/ocean w/palm trees in my yard too, that’s a good one!

    Comment by Katelyn | January 23, 2010 | Reply

  12. visit all 50 states, teach college, go to Israel…

    Comment by Ali | January 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

