Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Beetles are back, bitches!

I just spent the last couple of hours doing something that is extremely hard for me… calling businesses to ask for donations. Of course these donations aren’t for my personal pleasure but for the non-profit I used to work at. Still, it is challenging. Two people offered to donate their services/product but the others declined. Everyone was friendly but I could NEVER do this as a career. No way Jose.

Moving on to what really matters–FOOD! While reading blogs last night (Isn’t that what all cool people do on a Friday night?) I learned about Boston Organics from Tess. Boston Organics is a company that packs and delivers fresh organic and local produce straight to your doorstep. I signed up for a 39 dollar box of 2/3 veggies and 1/3 fruit, delivered bi-weekly. I have no clue if this will be too much or too little but we’ll have to see. My first delivery will be on February 4th and I am SOOOOOO excited. The boxes range from 29-57 dollars and their website has a “This weeks box” option enabling you to check out the weeks produce. Really neat. I hope I get a box full of squash and beets.

Don't even pretend they don't look like beetles.

Trader Joe’s was pretty unexciting. Typical products were purchased: eggs (organic and cage free), beans, nuts, peanut butter, fruits, veggies, Lara bars, soy nuggs (obvi), soups, hummus, tempeh (even though I don’t really like it), tofu, ravioli (for bf), and best of all BEETLES dates! I debated buying them because I could eat 100 of them, pits and all, (I kid) but then decided that they are a healthier alternative to the other shit I consume. After grocery shopping, we walked Eleanor around to do some errands (Starbucks and bank) and then came home to lunch. I whipped up and egg (1 egg + 2 whites) omelette filled with spinach, yellow squash, zucchini, onions and 1/2 cup refried beans. Yeah, it was intense. Eggs always need a sidekick so sliced pear stepped up the plate. Yum!!! It wasn’t long before I went date seeking.

As promised–The premier of “special ketchup.” This ain’t no ordinary ketchup, people. Meg is picking me up at six for dinner so I must o squeeze a quick workout in. Is it almost Sunday already?? What a rip off.

January 23, 2010 - Posted by | dogs, Food, Friends, The Boyfriend, Workout

9 Comments »

  1. Oh yum…ketchup! I am a serious ketchup FREAK! I could eat it on everything and um…I do! haha! 🙂

    Comment by Kelly | January 23, 2010 | Reply

  2. i would have said cockroaches! or rather, cock-o-roaches, according to a extremely self-confident blonde in my linguistics class.

    Comment by traynharder23 | January 23, 2010 | Reply

  3. Oooh, good lookin’ ketchup!

    Comment by ginamastrog | January 23, 2010 | Reply

  4. Stonewall Kitchen has some of the BEST stuff!!! You should try their cranberry chutney and add it to warmed brie! YUMMY!!!!

    Comment by Katelyn | January 23, 2010 | Reply

  5. lol– that ketchup is GOURMET!! 🙂

    Sounds like you got some great stuff at Trader Joes…I miss that store SO much!

    Comment by Anna | January 23, 2010 | Reply

  6. you’re right. they do look like beetles. delicious, delicious beetles.

    Comment by Lynn at The Actors Diet | January 23, 2010 | Reply

  7. That ketchup looks so gourmet- yum! I just discovered your blog, we sound a lot alike! I haven’t gone into my ED past much on my site, but we sound like we had a lot of the same issues. I can’t wait to read more!

    Comment by Gabriela | January 24, 2010 | Reply

  8. Boston Organics seems like a great company, I wish Austin had something like that! Even though your Trader Joe’s visit was not exciting for you. I am still dying to go and love to read anything about it lol.

    Comment by Erin (Texan Couture) | January 24, 2010 | Reply

  9. You make me laugh girl! Yes they look like beetles 😉

    Comment by lorialamia | January 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

