Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Fish Tank Free

Last night we went to Oga’s Japanese Cuisine in Natick, Ma.  Before I give my review, I should start with the facts. My sushi eating history doesn’t go very far back. I started eating “real” sushi a couple years ago. Before that I bought veggie sushi from grocery stores and now I know that doesn’t really count. My friend Amanda and I have gone out many times in trying to help me understand sushi goodness. I’ve always loved the idea eating with chop sticks so I was determined to like the stuff. I’ll never forget the first time I had salmon roll. It was the size of my head and I have an enormous noggin. After shoving the thing in my mouth and eventually feeling the texture of raw fish, into the napkin it went. Classy. We tried this again year after year. Finally my boyfriend helped me pick out some rolls that weren’t as intimidating like California roll and spicy tuna roll. (I love anything that covers up the taste/texture of fish.) Once in a while I can now order the Rainbow roll and that sucker is ALL fish. The problem is, I have to hide it under layers of ginger to camouflage the look and texture. Anyway, my sushi life changed after going to Fins here in Boston. There are several rolls that I can rely on without being grossed out–one involves sweet potato and the other involves fried shrimp and tempora flakes.

Back to Oga’s. The good news is that there were no tanks to be found. I HATE when sushi restaurants have fish tanks lining the walls. It’s my issue. After checking out the online menu and being less than impressed, the place was packed. My only complaint is that they don’t offer brown rice. I know it’s the non-traditional way but get with the program. They definitely lacked veggie roll options but then again, who goes to sushi for vegetables. I had a salad with ginger dressing to start. How good is that orange goodness? After contemplating getting a little ballsy with the rolls, it was just too risky. I went with a veggie roll with avocado added to it. This one was really good and even better drenched in soy sauce. Hello, water retention. I also ordered a baked salmon roll with avocado, scallions, and peppers. As much as I would love to be a salmon person, I’m just not. For salmon lovers, this roll would rock their world. Overall, food was good but the company was even better. Poor Meg and Alison felt like they had to put makeup on since they knew I’d be taking pictures. Such pressure! As usual we had great conversation and lots of laughs. “I’ll have some vag maki, please.” Guess you had to be there.

Hey sexy women!

Shared a bottle of Cab Sav

Best part!

Salmon on left, Veg on right

I gave the Lennster two choices for breakfast this morning: a loaded omelette or pumpkin pancakes. He chose pumpkin pancakes and I don’t blame the man. These babies are from Trader Joes and are so so good. I resisted the cakes and made myself a green monster. Unfortunately the GM wasn’t as good as my last one. I added too many ice cubes and then added too much almond milk to compensate. Dont worry, I managed to get it all down. GM included: 1.5 cups (oops) almond milk, 6 ice cubes,  1 tbsp peanut butter, half banana, lots of spinach and one scoop of vanilla protein powder. Ellie came running when she heard the peanut butter jar open so she got a special breakfast too–half banana with peanut butter. Spoiled brat. Todays agenda include dishes, laundry, lots of reading for school and a workout. That’s it!

January 24, 2010 - Posted by | dogs, Food, Friends, fun, The Boyfriend, Workout

8 Comments »

  1. Once I eat sushi, then I need to eat it every week. I love the stuff

    Comment by Nicci | January 24, 2010 | Reply

  2. Sotas mom and dad eat brown rice every morning in japan for breakfast, it’s traditional…just not here! And also sushi that have to be masked in soy sauce or Ginger you shouldn’t be paying for…you need to come visit and have sota cook you some yum at our house…I KNOW you’ll totally look at Japanese food completely different!
    Either way I’m really Totally impressed…you’d be the last person I’d expect to keep trying something with the texture of raw fish! Lol! Your awesome!

    Comment by Trina | January 24, 2010 | Reply

  3. I’m obsessed with sushi…sashimi is my favorite, just the chunks of raw fish! I’m gross, I know.

    I got both the Luna protein bars and Ezekiel cereal at Whole Foods. Most health stores carry the Ezek, but the Luna proteins are slowwwwly making their way around, from what I hear. I looked for them for at least a month before I found them, and last time I checked, they weren’t even on Luna’s website yet!

    OMG I love the PB&Co. Cinnamon Raisin Swirl. The BOMB, I agree! I like both that and the chocolate dreams the same, just in different combos!

    Enjoy your Sunday- I have a ton of reading, too! Ugh :/

    Comment by Gabriela | January 24, 2010 | Reply

  4. You know my love of sushi…however, while I am a cooked salmon lover…I hate the stuff raw. My favs spicy tuna, yellowtail and scallion, california, usually any of the dragon rolls……every now and then I can pull off eel and avocado, so sushi lover I may be, but not an adventurous one. I’d never be able to order a rainbow roll….just too much.

    Comment by Ali | January 24, 2010 | Reply

  5. I definitely made my first *completely undrinkable* green monster yesterday. Too much flaxseed + water = horrible. Glad yours was drinkable though 🙂

    Comment by Kristie | January 24, 2010 | Reply

  6. Mmmm…I LOVE raw fish! Sushi is one of the things I miss most about being vegetarian…yours looks delicious!

    Comment by Anna | January 24, 2010 | Reply

  7. i’m not a big fan of sushi. partially coz when we get it we don’t get brown rice. now sashimi…that’s my THANG!
    and soysauce, i get so bloated, but i need it NEED it for my potstickers and dumplings.
    vag maki? guess i had to be there. but when me and my cousin went to mex food, we kept saying fa JAY tas….for fajitas. get it?

    Comment by traynharder23 | January 24, 2010 | Reply

  8. Aw, look at you lovely ladies! I love sushi, glad you had such a fun time! 🙂

    Comment by ginamastrog | January 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

