Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Life as a fat person.

I swear, I’m destined to be a heifer. I had time to kill before dinner so instead of reading my homework, I chose to hit a local cafe  to use their internet for blogging purposes. I couldn’t sit there without making a purchase so naturally I bought a vegan cupcake. That’s right, I ate a cupcake as an appetizer. Who does that?  Shortly after that I met Sarah for dinner. I had fries on my mind so we split a “half” basket which was really a small trough. I ordered the Gringo burrito filled with rice, vegetables and cheese. I’m stuffed to the brim and feel my butt skin expanding. This is terrible. I wish I could be addicted  to something cooler like sex or something.

Dinner was fun. Sarah and I interned together last year and she was my saving grace. Without her, my placement would have been a complete bust. Sarah also acts as my therapist. When we get together it’s mostly social work talk. Oh, and boy talk but usually the two go hand-in-hand.

Appetizer 1

Appetizer 2

Can you see the pickled okra? How odd.

I was all excited for American Idol when I realized it’s only Monday. Boo!

January 25, 2010 - Posted by | eating disorder, Food, Friends

26 Comments »

  1. You are preaching to the choir over here – I am totally just trying to fight my inner obese girl everyday. Ben would be very happy if I was addicted to sex instead of chocolate chips…

    Comment by Runeatrepeat | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  2. You are too funny! You say some of the funniest things that make me crack up while reading your blog. The “butt skin” line is classic! haha. I feel your pain. I have been so bad. I lost 10 pounds and was under 20 to my goal and have eaten non-stop for the past 4 days (damn you Diary Queen and your Turtle Pecan Cluster Blizzards! – I have had like 5 or maybe 6 since Sat. We are talking 2 a day sooooo good yet SO bad). 😦 Now I am back up to where I was before. UGH!!!! I am so sick of it! Why cant I be a blessed skinny chick who doesnt have to work at it? ha!

    Comment by Christina | January 25, 2010 | Reply

    • Wouldn’t that be awesome! I wish.

      Comment by lpskins | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  3. Give yourself a break girl- it was only one cupcake! And in my opinion anything with frosting should never be turned down 😉

    Comment by Kelly (The Running Phoodie) | January 25, 2010 | Reply

    • Too many cupcakes, cookies, pastries, whoopee pies have crossed these lips.

      Comment by lpskins | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  4. You are NOT a heifer!!!! You’re too hard on yourself…we’re always our own harshest critic! Seriously, the pictures that you post of yourself are beautiful!

    Comment by Anna | January 25, 2010 | Reply

    • This is true about being our worst critics. Thanks for the compliment.

      Comment by lpskins | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  5. We all have our foodie days, girl! If you make good choices, it all balances out. Plus, cupcakes are definitely my kryptonite- irresistable!

    Comment by Gabriela | January 25, 2010 | Reply

    • Yeah but I can’t find balance.

      Comment by lpskins | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  6. Oh honey… with as little as you seem to eat earlier in the day I’d go crazy at night too. That wrap looks very delicious… and you’ve really got me curious about the pickled okra!

    Comment by Kristie | January 25, 2010 | Reply

    • The problem is, when I eat too much in the morning or afternoon, I use it as an excuse to eat like crazy all day. I can’t win!
      The okra wasn’t very good. I’d prefer a pickle anyday… or cooked okra for that matter.

      Comment by lpskins | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  7. It would be one thing if I ate a cupcake once in a while and called it a day.. but I’m doing this day after day after day. Thanks for the kind words though ladies.

    Comment by lpskins | January 25, 2010 | Reply

    • i find that i don’t have “good day-bad day” cycles. i have “good month-bad month” cycles, which are much harder to draw the line in the sand and start fresh, and can definitely turn into “good year-bad year” cycles. you work hard, you do your best, and that is all that anyone can ask of themselves. but no one is superhuman…

      Comment by jenn graves | January 26, 2010 | Reply

  8. You are much to hard on yourself….but I know the feeling, I’ve been in a major slump for a couple of weeks and it’s sooo hard getting back into the swing of things….hopefully tomorrow I will start climbing my way out of….whatever it is I’m in….UGH =)

    Remember you are a beautiful woman, and you so are deserving of all great things!!

    Have a great evening!

    Comment by Salina | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  9. Hey, some days we just need to indulge. At least you enjoyed the food! And to be honest, I know plenty of people who have cupcakes for appetizer. Or snack.

    Tomorrow is a new day! 🙂

    Comment by sophia | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  10. Be easy on yourself! You are not a heifer AT ALL.

    If I saw a place that had a vegan cupcake, I probably wouldn’t be able to resist!

    Comment by kilax | January 26, 2010 | Reply

  11. Seriously lins, the heifer thing?!?!? COme on girl! you are gorgeous! Knock it off! And who doesnt enjoy a good cupcake>? I take mine full-dairy 😉 Although Whole Foods has those RIDONK vegan oatmeal cookie whoooopie pie sandwiches that are UNREAL and prob like 900 calories. OK, I know you dont mind me pimpin out my blog here… http://www.upsanddownes.wordpress.com for more shenanagans.

    Comment by jessdownes | January 26, 2010 | Reply

    • They also have vegan chocolate chip scones.

      Comment by lpskins | January 26, 2010 | Reply

  12. Tyra Banks lived a day in a fat suit and didn’t like it either.
    Don’t worry about the food. As long as you had fun, that’s what matters 🙂

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | January 26, 2010 | Reply

  13. You crack me up…you are so honest and I LOVE it!! Hey sometimes you just gotta start with dessert! 🙂

    Comment by Kelly | January 26, 2010 | Reply

  14. Hey Linds, you are not a heifer for eating a cupcake and a few fries! There are always going to be good days and bad, but letting yourself get too down about the bad always leads to more bad than good…for me at least. If I’m not being too forward, I say you need to find a way to re-dedicate yourself to working out. I’ve read your blog since the beginning, and can defiitely see a change in your overall attitude (on here, at least) when you’re working out versus not. Take a read back at some of your posts and I think you’ll notice the difference too. Maybe that will help get you back on track! Love your blog!!!

    Comment by Christina | January 26, 2010 | Reply

    • Interesting Christina, thanks so much for the honest feedback. I know that working out increases my mood, that’s for sure. As I say, it’s my natural prozac. Thanks for the reminder that not working out has impacted my “outward” mood, as well as how I feel about myself. Thanks again. So very much appreciated.

      Comment by lpskins | January 26, 2010 | Reply

  15. you aren’t a heffer, but we all see ourselves much differently than others do. we totally see ourselves on the outside how we feel about ourselves on the inside. you are a beautiful person, inside and out, and we all see that, i hope you see it too. i have an extremely hard time with this sometime too.

    ps- i’ve had cupcakes (yes, that is plural) for breakfast with no shame. do not beat yourself up over a little vegan slice of heaven.

    Comment by jenn graves | January 26, 2010 | Reply

  16. A cupcake for an appetizer is completely reasonable to me!

    Comment by Erin (Texan Couture) | January 26, 2010 | Reply

  17. Vanilla Buttercream cupcakes just popped outta my oven, and let me tell you I will be having at least one before dessert. I mean, I HAVE to make sure they’re edible for Justin right ?! 🙂

    Comment by Katelyn | January 26, 2010 | Reply

  18. Keep your chin up girl. You wouldn’t be human if you didn’t crave cupcakes and fries in my book. 🙂

    Comment by livinglikeshannon | January 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

